Trouble connecting fia the internet

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> General Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
fhutt
-


Joined: 14 Jul 2019
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2020 1:01 am    Post subject: Trouble connecting fia the internet Reply with quote

I configured Abbys some months ago with http being routed to https and Acme running successfully. I am using Windows 7 Ultimate with Abbys.

Acme updated successfully numerous times.
I have updated my ISP with a new NetComm modem recently. I set up all the router forwarding as per the old working modem except the forwarding of port 80. The new modem rejects that setting due to the server using port 80. I don't understand that because the old modem used port 80 for the server too.

Now, I cannot access my web pages via the internet. Also Acme does not update due to a time out. I receive the following error:
"Fetching http://mywebsite/.well-known/acme-challenge/opZBWeNR37aHV5GDoJt660rb953WH3XM8NueoIxjGrg: Timeout during connect (likely firewall problem) (urn:ietf:params:acme:error:connection)"
I have not changed my firewall setting on the computer and have the firewall off on the router.

Could someone please help with this problem.

UPDATE: https:// appears to be working, but http:// times out. Acme appears to be reporting the same.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
fhutt
-


Joined: 14 Jul 2019
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2020 11:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've had no replies.

I am now having notices from "Let's Encrypt" stating that if I don't renew in the next few days my encryption will will lapse.

Let's Encrypt cannot gain access to my Abyss website via port 80 as outlined in the previous post.

Could someone please offer a suggestion as to how to fix the situation - otherwise I will have to shut down my website.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
fhutt
-


Joined: 14 Jul 2019
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2020 6:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found an entry in the manual of my new router (NF18ACV) regarding web servers:
"For example, you cannot host a web server accessible through port 80 of your public IP and enable remote http administration of the NF18ACV through port 80, you must provide both with unique port numbers."

With this being the case, how do I set up the Abbys server for a standard port 80 communication?
Thanks
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
pigeonburger
-


Joined: 17 Sep 2020
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2020 8:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

>"For example, you cannot host a web server accessible through port 80 of your public IP and enable remote http administration of the NF18ACV through port 80, you must provide both with unique port numbers."

This doesn't provide any useful information, except of course, if you're trying to run 2 programs on port 80, which it wasn't clear whether you are or not.

Also is there any reason you're running a https server on port 80? It wasn't clear whether you were or not, but you should use the standard port.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
fhutt
-


Joined: 14 Jul 2019
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Fri Dec 11, 2020 11:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am running both http and https to allow a visitor to enter either. Http is forwarded to https so that both entries will result in a secure connection.
For this reason I need to forward both ports 80 and 443.

I have now solved the problems as follows:

1. By changing the HTTP Service access port from 80 to 8080. This allows port 80 to be forwarded to my computer.

2. I had to allow these ports through the firewall.

3. I had to update Abyss V2.12 to V2.14 to allow the ACME certificate to be updated. Apparently, ACME has changed their methods that needed Abyss to change with it.

I had help wit 1 and 3 from the Aprelium support tead. I am very thankful for their help.

It all seems to work properly now.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
lazna
-


Joined: 16 Aug 2015
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2021 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have same error today, never seen it before. No changes on computer nor network configuration. Have Windows 7 Ultimate. Computer have full internet access. Is there any ACME log wher I can debug this issue?
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
admin
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Mar 2002
Posts: 1158

PostPosted: Sat Jun 05, 2021 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lazna wrote:
Have same error today, never seen it before. No changes on computer nor network configuration. Have Windows 7 Ultimate. Computer have full internet access. Is there any ACME log wher I can debug this issue?


Sure there is an ACME log that you can activate. Are you sure you're using the latest version of Abyss Web Server? Could you please contact our support by email?
_________________
Follow @abyssws on Twitter
Subscribe to our newsletter
_________________
Forum Administrator
Aprelium - https://aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB phpBB Group