help mysql > myadminphp > phpbb

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> Databases
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Teo2
-


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 4:20 am    Post subject: help mysql > myadminphp > phpbb Reply with quote

story:

I decided to try out phpbb but unfornutelly it required mysql, so i download the no-install version 5.0 of mysql, it took me almost 2 hours to download mysql 5.0- no install, .. anways unzipped it in my c:/ dir, and i read a tuturial at http://www.abyssunderground.co.uk/tutorials.php , i did what it said to do for phpbb, so i downloaded phpmyadmin.. i did everything for myadminphp , but the tuturial doesnt have instructiosn for no install mysql :(

i have phpmyadmin and phpBB, both in my htdocs directory, i have mysql(no install) in my c:/ dir.. but when i run phpadmin it says it

Quote:

phpMyAdmin - Error

Cannot load mysql extension. Please check your PHP configuration. - Documentation



heres info windows xp, abyss x1, php 5, mysql-5 ,phpBB 2.0, phpMyAdmin 2.8
:P
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
bprsk8r4272
-


Joined: 07 Mar 2006
Posts: 124
Location: Rochester, NY

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 4:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

so just use the installer version
_________________
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
Teo2
-


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 4:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have a slow 256 kb connection, so i dont think i can sit through another 1 or 2 hours of anxiety.. :P.. but if thats the only solution, i will try it
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
TRUSTAbyss
-


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 3720
Location: USA, GA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 5:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You haven't done enough searching.
http://www.abyssunderground.co.uk/awsfaq.php?page=cannot_load_mysql_extension

Note: You can find some of my tutorials at:
www.trustabyss.com
_________________
Computer Programmer & Networking Specialist



Last edited by TRUSTAbyss on Wed Aug 16, 2006 5:17 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Teo2
-


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 5:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

looks promising i didnt have php.ini, i had php-ini-dist, and php.ini-recommended,i just copied from the php.ini-recommend and did what was instructed, i'll try it again..
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
TRUSTAbyss
-


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 3720
Location: USA, GA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 5:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Teo2 wrote:
looks promising i didnt have php.ini, i had php-ini-dist, and php.ini-recommended,i just copied from the php.ini-recommend and did what was instructed, i'll try it again..


Rename "php.ini - recommended" to "php.ini" and change the settings as I
have in my tutorials. This should easily fix the problem.
_________________
Computer Programmer & Networking Specialist

Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Teo2
-


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 5:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

okay, gotcha.. i'll let you know how things went in a few
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Teo2
-


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 5:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

it worked, thanks..

i'm having another problem.. server not responding

Quote:

Error
#2003 - The server is not responding
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
TRUSTAbyss
-


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 3720
Location: USA, GA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 5:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That just means the MySQL server is not running. Check the Services panel to
see if MySQL is running in the Services list.

To do that:

Switch to Classic View for Controle panel and click Administrative Tools, now
open the Services panel and check see if MySQL is started.

I will help you on MSN Messenger if you want. Add msn@trustabyss.com to
your contacts and I will assist you.
_________________
Computer Programmer & Networking Specialist

Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Teo2
-


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 6:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey! .. I got mysql and phpadmin, and my forum up, but one thing i noticed is that some links at my forum like 'admin panel' do not exist when i click them, how do i add them?

i didnt see contrib, so i deleted only install folder when it told me too. could that be it?


p.s. thanks for the help so far
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
TRUSTAbyss
-


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 3720
Location: USA, GA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 7:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You must login as the Administrator to access the Admin Panel area.
_________________
Computer Programmer & Networking Specialist

Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
aprelium
-


Joined: 22 Mar 2002
Posts: 6800

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 3:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Teo2 wrote:
looks promising i didnt have php.ini, i had php-ini-dist, and php.ini-recommended,i just copied from the php.ini-recommend and did what was instructed, i'll try it again..

Install our preconfigured PHP 5 package and save your time with these php.ini editions and settings: http://www.aprelium.com/abyssws/php5win.html .

Use also the MySQL installer version, it is hassle-free.
_________________
Support Team
Aprelium - http://www.aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Tom Chapman
-


Joined: 09 Jul 2005
Posts: 933
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Teo2 wrote:
i have a slow 256 kb connection, so i dont think i can sit through another 1 or 2 hours of anxiety.. :P.. but if thats the only solution, i will try it


lol I have 512 KB/s and if you meant 256 KB/s you should try a differrent mirror..

If you do have half the speed of dial up, look out for pc magazines in news agencies. Their disks usually contain copies of basics programs like MySql.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
AbyssUnderground
-


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 3855

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 5:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MrWiseOne wrote:
Teo2 wrote:
i have a slow 256 kb connection, so i dont think i can sit through another 1 or 2 hours of anxiety.. :P.. but if thats the only solution, i will try it


lol I have 512 KB/s and if you meant 256 KB/s you should try a differrent mirror..

If you do have half the speed of dial up, look out for pc magazines in news agencies. Their disks usually contain copies of basics programs like MySql.


MrWiseOne,

You have 512Kbps / 256Kbps not 512KB/s / 256KB/s ;-)
_________________
Andy (AbyssUnderground) (previously The Inquisitor)
www.abyssunderground.co.uk
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Tom Chapman
-


Joined: 09 Jul 2005
Posts: 933
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 10:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lol, i'll never get it right
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
AbyssUnderground
-


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 3855

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 10:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MrWiseOne wrote:
lol, i'll never get it right


Just remember internet speeds are usually in the form Kbps / Mbps and download speeds are in the form KB/s / MB/s ;-)
_________________
Andy (AbyssUnderground) (previously The Inquisitor)
www.abyssunderground.co.uk
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Teo2
-


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 10:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the first time of install for phpbb i didn't find contrib when it told me to remove both files.. i guess something was missingm, but My second install of phpbb was successful..


again, thanks..
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> Databases All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB phpBB Group