View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Gannyaa -
Joined: 29 Sep 2006 Posts: 93 Location: Nelson, BC -- Canada
|
Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2006 4:27 am Post subject: Streaming Video |
|
|
How do I stream video with Abyss web server?
A friend wants a website that does a video virtual tour on his real estate.
Can Abyss do this? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
AbyssUnderground -
Joined: 31 Dec 2004 Posts: 3855
|
Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2006 7:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
You can embed a windows media player or similar on the page and have it stream the content from the server. Thats the easiest way. _________________ Andy (AbyssUnderground) (previously The Inquisitor)
www.abyssunderground.co.uk |
|
Back to top |
|
|
aprelium -
Joined: 22 Mar 2002 Posts: 6800
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Gannyaa -
Joined: 29 Sep 2006 Posts: 93 Location: Nelson, BC -- Canada
|
Posted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 10:42 pm Post subject: Thanks Again! |
|
|
Really Guys, Streaming video doesn't look all that hard.
I thought like those previous posts describe, that you might need a streaming server or something.
Thanks for the embedding tip... will try
Todd
(Gannyaa) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
AbyssUnderground -
Joined: 31 Dec 2004 Posts: 3855
|
Posted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 10:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
If you want to stream live content then Windows Media Encoder is a fairly good program to try out. _________________ Andy (AbyssUnderground) (previously The Inquisitor)
www.abyssunderground.co.uk |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Gannyaa -
Joined: 29 Sep 2006 Posts: 93 Location: Nelson, BC -- Canada
|
Posted: Wed Oct 18, 2006 12:59 am Post subject: Windows Media Encoder |
|
|
I looked into the Windows Media Encoder and the system requirements for version 9 is a Windows 2000 or 300mhz processor.
So I looked on some of my older CDs/backups and found RealProducer 7 which will work with a 166mhz computer, both for encoding and broadcasting.
Older computers can do it.... I know they can...
I will post a page when I get it working. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
hc2995 -
Joined: 07 Aug 2006 Posts: 644 Location: Maryland, USA
|
Posted: Wed Oct 18, 2006 3:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
well using windows media player is very easy :D
1. Put the video file in a folder on the server (inside the htdocs folder)
2. copy and paste this code in a web page
Code: |
<embed allowScriptAccess="never" allowNetworking="internal" enableJavaScript="false" allowScriptAccess="never" allowNetworking="internal" name="RAOCXplayer" src="FILE" type="application/x-mplayer2" width="320" height="67" ShowControls="1" ShowStatusBar="1" AutoSize="true" loop="false" EnableContextMenu="1" DisplaySize="0" pluginspage="http://www.microsoft.com/Windows/Downloads/Contents/Products/MediaPlayer/" autostart="true"></embed>
|
3. Change the following with the location of the video:
4. adjust the height and width to fit the video
Code: |
width="320" height="67"
|
Test it out and see if it works :D
ALSO: Works good for music (DEMO: www.chat-hctech.co.nr/wan.html) _________________ Where have i been? School got heck-tick, had to move half way around the state, then back... and then i had to change jobs, so iv been away for a while :P |
|
Back to top |
|
|
TRUSTAbyss -
Joined: 29 Oct 2003 Posts: 3752 Location: USA, GA
|
Posted: Wed Oct 18, 2006 3:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
The way you wrote your code does not work in Firefox. Here's how the code
should look if you want it to work in Firefox browsers.
video.wmv
Code: | <embed src="video.avi" width="320" height="240" autostart="false"> |
Last edited by TRUSTAbyss on Wed Oct 18, 2006 3:26 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
hc2995 -
Joined: 07 Aug 2006 Posts: 644 Location: Maryland, USA
|
Posted: Wed Oct 18, 2006 3:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
woops, damn i keep forgeting about firefox i use IE 7 by defult :/ _________________ Where have i been? School got heck-tick, had to move half way around the state, then back... and then i had to change jobs, so iv been away for a while :P
Last edited by hc2995 on Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:20 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Gannyaa -
Joined: 29 Sep 2006 Posts: 93 Location: Nelson, BC -- Canada
|
Posted: Sun Oct 22, 2006 1:41 am Post subject: Got some embeddin to work... |
|
|
Well thanks for the code guys... I found out that firefox and IE both handle embeds differently....
this is what works... I won't be keeping this link up for long
http://haidavision.no-ip.info/bear/
Because it takes up a lot of bandwidth.
I downloaded some extensions for Firefox and one tested up/down load speeds
I have great download to the server 1.71 Mbps
But upload to the internet is only 162.00 Kbps About a tenth of download speed.
So I think I will just stick to plain old Html for now, and leave out the scripts.
Until I upgrade to a faster Broadband connection and computer.
Thanks guys
Todd |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Gannyaa -
Joined: 29 Sep 2006 Posts: 93 Location: Nelson, BC -- Canada
|
Posted: Tue Nov 07, 2006 4:19 pm Post subject: Thank you - YouTube |
|
|
Just thought I would post this suggestion.
I was looking the other day to do streaming video...
You Tube can stream the video for you if you're server isn't fast enough.
So at YouTube once you have your video uploaded to their site,
they give you this link so you can embed the video in your own webpage.
<object width="425" height="350"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/wCEgubeQtos"></param><param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/wCEgubeQtos" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"></embed></object>
It works really. Saves my server a lot of bandwidth.
Now my friend has a virtual tour of his vacation rental
http://crescentbeachhouse.no-ip.info/
Later
Todd
(Gannyaa) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|