Mysql+PhP

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> Databases
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Jimi_l
-


Joined: 16 Dec 2005
Posts: 33
Location: NH USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 12:20 am    Post subject: Mysql+PhP Reply with quote

Hi All,

I have tried getting MYSQL and PHP to work together off and on for months with no avail. I have tried version 4 and 5 of both, 4 of one and 5 of the other, inverted, both 4, you name it.

I have read the tutorials but right off I have NEVER seen this MYSQL "green light" in the tray that several of the tutorials refer to on ANY version. I can make databases, edit them, make users, change permissions and do whatever else I try so I know it's running.

Also I know PHP works as I have PHP powered apps running on the server, several of them actually. I ran a PHP config script and it does refer to SQlite but not MYSQL.

As for PHPMYADMIN I have gone to the PHP.ini file and edited the required lines but then all I get is a PHP cannot be initiated error when I run setup. Without them I get a "could not load mysql or mysqli extensions...you may not be able to..." I have also copied the libmysql.dll file to C:\windows\system32 with no effect.

It SEEMS to me that MYSQL and PHP simply cannot "see" each other. For the heck of it I tried a PHP Blog install and get similar errors so now I am pretty much convinced that is the case. I'm stumped...any ideas?

Jimi_l
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
bprsk8r4272
-


Joined: 07 Mar 2006
Posts: 124
Location: Rochester, NY

PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 12:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

try this http://www.phpfreaks.com/forums/index.php?PHPSESSID=84ced24a8a6d2c2c00c1ffba5d8291ef&/topic,95378.0.html
_________________
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
Jimi_l
-


Joined: 16 Dec 2005
Posts: 33
Location: NH USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wrong error message but I have already tried that exact same routine to no avail.

Thanks,

Jimi_l
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
bprsk8r4272
-


Joined: 07 Mar 2006
Posts: 124
Location: Rochester, NY

PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 2:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ik but thats how you enable mysql to work with php
_________________
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
Jimi_l
-


Joined: 16 Dec 2005
Posts: 33
Location: NH USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 10:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The weird thing is that Squirrel mail apparently has a built in MySQL engine and it works fine.

If you or anyone else can think of anything else to try it would be appreicated. Like I said I have scoured the Internet and tried everything I can find.

Jimi_l
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
AbyssUnderground
-


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 3855

PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 10:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you followed my tutorials? I have had no complaints of them not working. www.abyssunderground.co.uk/tutorials.php
_________________
Andy (AbyssUnderground) (previously The Inquisitor)
www.abyssunderground.co.uk
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Jimi_l
-


Joined: 16 Dec 2005
Posts: 33
Location: NH USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 10:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Indeed I have..and even followed them repeatedly :) Have a look at the second paragraph of my first post.

Thanks,

Jimi_l
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
AbyssUnderground
-


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 3855

PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 10:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try a different php and/or mysql version.
_________________
Andy (AbyssUnderground) (previously The Inquisitor)
www.abyssunderground.co.uk
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Jimi_l
-


Joined: 16 Dec 2005
Posts: 33
Location: NH USA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 11:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is STILL an open issue for me.

If anyone has a clue about why this does not work I would appreiciate it.

TIA,

Jimi_l
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
aprelium
-


Joined: 22 Mar 2002
Posts: 6800

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 9:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jimi_l,

Install MySQL 5 (the MSI installer version - no tutorial to follow, the installer handles everything for you) and our PHP 5 preconfigured package from http://www.aprelium.com/abyssws/php5win.html .
_________________
Support Team
Aprelium - http://www.aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Jimi_l
-


Joined: 16 Dec 2005
Posts: 33
Location: NH USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 10:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I will try that tonight and report back.

Thanks for the feedback,

Jimi_l
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
aivars
-


Joined: 19 Oct 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2006 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
Downloading your compilation of PHP did not work at all!!. had to revert back to my version of php because after your precompiled version of php Apache would not start at all.
I have Apache 2.0.59 working, mysql 5.0.26 working, php 5.1.6 working separately OK. But I also cannot get PHP working with mySQL together

I have tried all the google advices. nothing helps at the moment
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Jimi_l
-


Joined: 16 Dec 2005
Posts: 33
Location: NH USA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It DID work for me :)

FINALLY after so many tries it came to life!!!! I never did get any "green light" or any signal of any kind for that matter.

Thanks a TON,

Jimi_l
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
aivars
-


Joined: 19 Oct 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2006 4:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Had you to change anything in the downloaded php.ini file? I was not able to start apache after installing the pre-compiled thing.
thanks
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
aivars
-


Joined: 19 Oct 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2006 4:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Finally I also got it to work!! But not with the pre-compiled thing thoug. I had all the modules in php.ini file OK, but PHPiniDir in httppd.conf was wrong. Thats because i did change php initial installation directory.
Actually i think one needs to download the latest mysql.dll and mysqli.dll from mysql.com site and theydo the work. But the most importatnt thing is to double-check everything in php.ini and httpd.conf files, and aslo make sure that there is a separate path in windows showing to php directory.
thanks
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
TRUSTAbyss
-


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 3719
Location: USA, GA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2006 12:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aivars,

The pre-configured PHP package is built for Abyss Web Server.
_________________
Computer Programmer & Networking Specialist

Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
aivars
-


Joined: 19 Oct 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2006 7:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry,
i somehow failed to take a notice of that. Maybe i shud try Abyss WS one day.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> Databases All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB phpBB Group