ASP / ACCESS ISSUE

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> Classic ASP
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Yami King
-


Joined: 08 Sep 2005
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2005 1:53 pm    Post subject: ASP / ACCESS ISSUE Reply with quote

Hi,

I had a question: I want to get some records out of my database and put them on my site. Only there is one slight problem, with the following code it gives me a Internet Server Error:


Code:

<%
Dim Conn, SQLTemp

Set Conn = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Connection")
Conn.connectionstring = "DRIVER={Microsoft Access Driver (*.
mdb)}; DBQ=" _
& Server.Mappath("partners.mdb") & ";User Id=USER;
Password=PW;"
Conn.Open

SQLTemp = "SELECT * FROM partnerfiles"
Set rstemp = Conn.execute(SQLTemp)
Do While Not rstemp.EOF
%>

PAGE CONTENT, including the codes to get the records out

<%
rstemp.MoveNext
Loop
Conn.Close

Set Conn = Nothing
%>



And with the code bellow I get a Microsoft JET Database Engine- Error
'80040e4d'

Code:

<%
Dim Conn, SQLTemp

Set Conn = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Connection")
Conn.connectionstring = "Provider=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;
Data Source="_
& Server.MapPath("partners.mdb") & "User ID = USER;Password
= PW;"
Conn.Open

SQLTemp = "SELECT * FROM partnerfiles"
Set rstemp = Conn.execute(SQLTemp)

Do While Not rstemp.EOF
%>

PAGE CONTENT, including the scripts to get the records out

<%
rstemp.MoveNext
Loop
Conn.Close

Set Conn = Nothing
%>




I can't find anything useful about it on Google and Yahoo, but I really need to get this work on my local.
I don't know if this is a error caused by Abbys, I guess not, but maybe it is so I posted it here.

Can someone help me?
Thanks in advance,
Yami King
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
aprelium
-


Joined: 22 Mar 2002
Posts: 6800

PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2005 5:39 pm    Post subject: Re: ASP / ACCESS ISSUE Reply with quote

Yami King wrote:
I can't find anything useful about it on Google and Yahoo, but I really need to get this work on my local.
I don't know if this is a error caused by Abbys, I guess not, but maybe it is so I posted it here.

Abyss Web Server does not execute your ASP code. It is ActiveHTML which does it.

The error you receive here shows clearly that there is problem with your database access routines. Code 80040e4d is documented in http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx/kb/222828 and means that you're using a wrong user/password for accessing the database.
_________________
Support Team
Aprelium - http://www.aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Yami King
-


Joined: 08 Sep 2005
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2005 5:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, thanks :), but how do I know what the user account is for my database? I can't find it anywhere...
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Anonymoose
-


Joined: 09 Sep 2003
Posts: 2192

PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2005 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

"Hey, what do you mean I have to know how to drive this thing now that I've bought it?"

If you don't know the username and password for whatever database you're connecting to, ask. Noone here is going to be able to magically tell you the answer...
_________________

"Invent an idiot proof webserver and they'll invent a better idiot..."
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Yami King
-


Joined: 08 Sep 2005
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2005 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wow sorry...

Ok now I've figured out who the USER is, it's Admin... But when I fill it in with my password I still get the same error...
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
aprelium
-


Joined: 22 Mar 2002
Posts: 6800

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2005 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yami King wrote:
wow sorry...

Ok now I've figured out who the USER is, it's Admin... But when I fill it in with my password I still get the same error...

You'll have also to check in "Windows Control Panel" > "ODBC" the access permissions granted to this user "admin".
_________________
Support Team
Aprelium - http://www.aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Yami King
-


Joined: 08 Sep 2005
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2005 2:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

But there is another slight problem, I can't access the Windows Control Panel due some problems...

Isn't there any other solution?
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
MonkeyNation
-


Joined: 05 Feb 2005
Posts: 921
Location: Cardiff

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2005 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yami King wrote:
But there is another slight problem, I can't access the Windows Control Panel due some problems...

Isn't there any other solution?


Start -> Run -> odbccp32.cpl Mabye?
_________________
Back to top View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number
Yami King
-


Joined: 08 Sep 2005
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2005 5:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice one, but didn't work unfortunately...

It gives the same error as usual, when I try to access something like that..
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
AbyssUnderground
-


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 3855

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2005 7:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds like a format c: or if you have XP a repair.

To run repair for XP, put in the disk and boot from it. When it asks to install windows say yes (ignore repair console, this is different). It will check for existing installations. A menu will appear with your current installation on it. Highlight it and press enter. It will resinstall windows but you WONT lose any files. It will simply replace system files.

BTW, some program *may* not work after this. You may have to reinstall some of them.

Hope this helps XP users :P
_________________
Andy (AbyssUnderground) (previously The Inquisitor)
www.abyssunderground.co.uk
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Yami King
-


Joined: 08 Sep 2005
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2005 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is an idea indeed, but I don't know if my dad would like it :P... Have to wait doing it till my dad is in a good mood..




(Oh my god, this will take years :'()

:P
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
aprelium
-


Joined: 22 Mar 2002
Posts: 6800

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2005 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yami King,

Are you using an unpriviliged account under XP? This can explain why you have these problems since this kind of tasks is usually only allowed for the system administrator only.
_________________
Support Team
Aprelium - http://www.aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Yami King
-


Joined: 08 Sep 2005
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2005 3:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't really use an unprivileged account, because there is just 1 single account on this computer...
This problem is a bit different and VERY complicated :(, but I'm trying to fix it...
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Yami King
-


Joined: 08 Sep 2005
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found some "broken pipe" lines in my error log:
CGI: [C:\asp\AHTML.exe test.asp ]URI: /IWAN/ASP/test.aspBroken pipe

CGI: [C:\asp\AHTML.exe test.asp ]URI: /IWAN/ASP/test.aspBroken pipe

CGI: [C:\asp\AHTML.exe conn.asp ]URI: /IWAN/PN/admin/conn.aspBroken pipe
CGI: [C:\asp\AHTML.exe admin.asp ]URI: /IWAN/PN/admin/admin.aspBroken pipe
CGI: [C:\asp\AHTML.exe admin.asp ]URI: /IWAN/PN/admin/admin.aspBroken pipe
CGI: [C:\asp\AHTML.exe admin.asp ]URI: /IWAN/PN/admin/admin.aspBroken pipe
CGI: [C:\asp\AHTML.exe admin.asp ]URI: /IWAN/PN/admin/admin.aspBroken pipe
CGI: [C:\asp\AHTML.exe admin.asp ]URI: /IWAN/PN/admin/admin.aspBroken pipe


This is why it gives me an internal server error, how can I fix this then?
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
aprelium
-


Joined: 22 Mar 2002
Posts: 6800

PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2005 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yami King,

"Broken Pipe" with ActiveHTML usually means that the interpreter executable ActiveHTML.exe failed to be launched. This is most of the time related to missing DLLs.

ActiveHTML depends on the VB Scripting subsystem. Please download it from http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp?url=/downloads/list/webdev.asp (download the right version of "Microsoft Windows Script 5.6", there are two, one for each family of operating systems).
_________________
Support Team
Aprelium - http://www.aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Yami King
-


Joined: 08 Sep 2005
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2005 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I downloaded it, (first I downloaded the Script Debugger, clicked on the wrong item :P then downloaded the Script 5.6).

But it still gives me an Internal Server Error
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
aprelium
-


Joined: 22 Mar 2002
Posts: 6800

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2005 11:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yami King wrote:
I downloaded it, (first I downloaded the Script Debugger, clicked on the wrong item :P then downloaded the Script 5.6).

But it still gives me an Internal Server Error

OK so all we can advice now is to contact SeliSoft (http://www.selisoft.com) and ask them for help regarding this issue with ActiveHTML. Please post here any information they may give to you.
_________________
Support Team
Aprelium - http://www.aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Yami King
-


Joined: 08 Sep 2005
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2005 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sent them an e-mail today. I'll reply on this topic and post what they said.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Yami King
-


Joined: 08 Sep 2005
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2005 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got an e-mail back:
Hello Iwan,

Please start AHTMLCFG.EXE, connect to your webserver, enable [x] Debug mode
and request the page that causes the error.

There should be one or more files named AHTML*.DEB in the ActiveHTML folder.
Please zip these files an send it to me along with ActiveHTML install.log
and your webserver config file.

Best regards,

Josef Lindinger
seliSoft Softwareentwicklung



This was what they e-mailed me, and this is my reply to it:
Hi,

It still doesn't work, what I did:
Started AHTMLCFG, connected to my webserver, this was the connection that already stood there so I didn't really knew why I should have changed it, so I simply didn't. Then I checked the box "Debug Mode Enabled (Very Slow!)". Then I started Abyss. Finally I typed the url to "the problem page" in the locationbar but it still gave me an Internal Server Error.
In the attachment are the files you asked for.

Iwan

[attachment: The files he asked for: Abyss config file, the .DEB files and the install log of AHTML]


So it's still not working, I'll keep you all informed...
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> Classic ASP All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB phpBB Group