uploading my flash website to my abyss server

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> General Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
proteus
-


Joined: 07 Jan 2005
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 3:10 pm    Post subject: uploading my flash website to my abyss server Reply with quote

hi there,
i'm a rookie and of course a question.
my abyss server is install and runing perfectly.
i have a flash website and would like to upload it on my abyss server.
how do you do that?

thank you for any help you can provide.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Axis
-


Joined: 29 Sep 2003
Posts: 336

PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello proteus--

You should be able to just copy the flash website into your root (or htdocs) documents folder if your Abyss installation is on your own computer. If not you might need an ftp program to upload files.

Regards,
Axis
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
proteus
-


Joined: 07 Jan 2005
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 5:51 pm    Post subject: linking main page to other page Reply with quote

hi there,

first i'd like to thanks "axis" for your quick answer.

now i copied the index file to my htdocs, when i type the address to go to my website main page it doesnt work properly. i will expain:

the page display properly but not the text. Plus if i double click on the file itself it opens correctly without any problem.

also i have a folder name "txt" with 5 txt files name directories, directory1 through directory5. these files, as i understand it , suppose to represent the button that i have on my site but when i click on these button nothing append. Can you help?

thank you
Proteus
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Axis
-


Joined: 29 Sep 2003
Posts: 336

PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi again proteus--

It sounds like you need to address the buttons and links correctly. It is a little difficult to debug this without having access to your page. Do you mind posting the url to your site here? That might help to see what is going on.

Otherwise it probably has something to do with the folder "txt" and how it is addressed in your flash page. /txt/ ??? /txt/specificfile??? Do you have the five directories in place? They might need a address like /directory1, etc.

I guess it is hard to help from "this far away."

Regards,
Axis
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
proteus
-


Joined: 07 Jan 2005
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 6:31 pm    Post subject: proteus again Reply with quote

hello axis and everybody else,

axis here is my address :

http://127.0.0.1/index.html

i don't know if you are going to be able to access it , but i guess you can try if you want.

if you need more detail info let me know.

thanks a lot, best regards,

proteus
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
richardyork
-


Joined: 22 Jun 2004
Posts: 390
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 9:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

that address is your local ip address. only you can access your site using this address! you need to post your real ip address, you can find this out using this link: http://www.aprelium.com/ip/. Post this ip address instead. you may have to keep checking that your ip address is the same because if you have adsl then you may have a dynamic ip address. you could always get a free doain name to save you all of these troubles by registering and downloading a client from one of the following addresses. these are two of the best (that i know of):

http://www.ipupdater.com i personally use this and find it the best! for example, it will give you an addess of, www.yourname.ipupdater.com

or

http://www.no-ip.com/ this will provide you with an address of, for example, www.yourname.no-ip.com.

These are all FREE services!!

I wish you the best of luck my friend!
Any questions, don't hesitate to post or email me!
Thank You!
_________________
Please SEARCH the forums BEFORE asking questions!
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
proteus
-


Joined: 07 Jan 2005
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 9:59 pm    Post subject: proteus again Reply with quote

Hi richardyork,

here is my ip address http;//81.156.65.131

that should be the right one.

thanks again.

proteus
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Axis
-


Joined: 29 Sep 2003
Posts: 336

PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 10:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello proteus--

Cannot connect to server using http://81.156.65.131/

Sorry.

Regards,
Axis
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
richardyork
-


Joined: 22 Jun 2004
Posts: 390
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 4:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i would suggest trying one of the websites i previously provided to get a sub domain. this will be the best idea. i suggest trying ipUpdater.
are you using a router?

Thank You!
_________________
Please SEARCH the forums BEFORE asking questions!
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
proteus
-


Joined: 07 Jan 2005
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 5:42 pm    Post subject: Proteus again Reply with quote

Hello to richardyork and axis,

thank you very much for your help i resolve the problem.

see you out there .

best regards ,

proteus
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB phpBB Group