FTP

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> Off Topic Discussions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Truplaya3208112
-


Joined: 02 Jul 2004
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 3:02 am    Post subject: FTP Reply with quote

I am using phpBB board and I added a photo album to it but whenever people try to upload pix they get the error 200 page. I'm guessing it's because Abyss doesn't include a FTP server from searching through past posts. I was wondering how to add an FTP server or something that will allow people to upload pix into a folder on my computer. Ty very much in advance
_________________

We don't have many users. Please help us out and sign up and be active
http://tpcpro.no-ip.com
http://tpcpro.no-ip.com/forum
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
senshi
-


Joined: 05 Nov 2003
Posts: 385
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

its more likely that the ability to upload is causing errors because the default save path is not enabled and as such the attempts are not able to be saved.

Check your php.ini settings and check also that your allowing upload to!
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Truplaya3208112
-


Joined: 02 Jul 2004
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 1:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

everything looks good there. Here is my code for file uploads:
Code:
;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;
; File Uploads ;
;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

; Whether to allow HTTP file uploads.
file_uploads = On

; Temporary directory for HTTP uploaded files (will use system default if not
; specified).
upload_tmp_dir = C:\PHP\uploadtemp  ; temporary directory for HTTP uploaded files (will use system default if not specified)

; Maximum allowed size for uploaded files.
upload_max_filesize = 10M

_________________

We don't have many users. Please help us out and sign up and be active
http://tpcpro.no-ip.com
http://tpcpro.no-ip.com/forum
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
senshi
-


Joined: 05 Nov 2003
Posts: 385
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

try adding an alias with the physical path, could be that the error is the webserver and php conflict as the PHP temp path exists outside the servers root path.

so eithet move the php setting to a folder within your servers scope or add an alias to the physical path that the server can access.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
goose
-


Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 608
Location: The Land Of OZ! come here toto!

PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 5:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

who cares the world is dead or soon will be !

i got that from man whoring !
_________________
living in an armish paradise.....no gates here!

mawuahahaha :)
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Truplaya3208112
-


Joined: 02 Jul 2004
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

senshi wrote:
try adding an alias with the physical path, could be that the error is the webserver and php conflict as the PHP temp path exists outside the servers root path.

so eithet move the php setting to a folder within your servers scope or add an alias to the physical path that the server can access.

Lol you lost me, I am very new to PHP. Mind expaling a little bit more? Ty
_________________

We don't have many users. Please help us out and sign up and be active
http://tpcpro.no-ip.com
http://tpcpro.no-ip.com/forum
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
senshi
-


Joined: 05 Nov 2003
Posts: 385
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2004 11:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

in the web server conslole, right click the web server icon in the system tray and select the console.

look in the advance server settings and click on the Aliases link, you have the ability to create an alias, which is like a virtual path, this will have a physical path to a folder on your hard disk.

for example if you had a folder called audio in c:\my files and you wanted to share the folder in the webserver and access it using an alias name 'mp3' you put in the virtual path / alaias box the value '/mp3' (without the quotes) and the physical path c:\my files\audio.

anyone now accessing your server withe the url hrrp://YourDNSname/mp3 will be served up the content of folder c:\my files\audio but all the user sees is the URL ending with /mp3.

you can also password protect your aliases if needed.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Truplaya3208112
-


Joined: 02 Jul 2004
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 1:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem is not people downloading, it's uploading. When ever I or other people try to upload it gives me/them the error 200 page
_________________

We don't have many users. Please help us out and sign up and be active
http://tpcpro.no-ip.com
http://tpcpro.no-ip.com/forum
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
senshi
-


Joined: 05 Nov 2003
Posts: 385
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 3:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Physical path is...
c:\programs\abyss web server\htdocs\index.html

Alials is....

/myaliasname


an alias is like a virtual path and can usually be accessed in much the same way.

The other issue is that the setting could be to do with PHP, but generally having and upload path set shouldnt cause any operational issues as I have used the upload before and has not proved to cause any working problems. I would check that theirs no restrictions on the size of the upload as LARGE files like .bmp files and .tif files are huge and you may find that you will have to lift the upload limit to allow larger files.



Quote:
;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;
; File Uploads ;
;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

; Whether to allow HTTP file uploads.
file_uploads = On

; Temporary directory for HTTP uploaded files (will use system default if not
; specified).
upload_tmp_dir = C:\PHP\uploadtemp ; temporary directory for HTTP uploaded files (will use system default if not specified)

; Maximum allowed size for uploaded files.
upload_max_filesize = 10M


Try changing this path to a folder within your servers scope, and make a folder called uploads and point the PHP upload setting to that folder and see if it helps the problem.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Truplaya3208112
-


Joined: 02 Jul 2004
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 4:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nope, I tried that. Still getting
Code:
Error 200

OK

Abyss Web Server X1
© Aprelium Technologies - 2001-2004

I don't think it's the script becuase it's this way with all uploads.
_________________

We don't have many users. Please help us out and sign up and be active
http://tpcpro.no-ip.com
http://tpcpro.no-ip.com/forum
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
goose
-


Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 608
Location: The Land Of OZ! come here toto!

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 9:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i got my female server from man whoring!
_________________
living in an armish paradise.....no gates here!

mawuahahaha :)
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
senshi
-


Joined: 05 Nov 2003
Posts: 385
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 10:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, I dont know what to suggest, does seem a bit strange, what version of PHP are you using?

Version 5.x is supposed to be a bit buggy, you can always get an older version of the PHP interpreter.

The other option is to start a fresh install and see if that helps solve the issue.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> Off Topic Discussions All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB phpBB Group