php errors on all scripts it seems

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> PHP
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mrblue
-


Joined: 24 Feb 2004
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2004 9:41 pm    Post subject: php errors on all scripts it seems Reply with quote

Hi i managed to install php using the intructions on the site it loads php pages no problem but if i try and use a script like a shoutbox (uses no msql saves to a text file) i get loads of errors like this:

Notice: Undefined index: 4 in C:\Program Files\Abyss Web Server\htdocs\shoutbox\board.php on line 390

Notice: Undefined variable: act in C:\Program Files\Abyss Web Server\htdocs\shoutbox\board.php on line 67

Notice: Undefined index: 2 in C:\Program Files\Abyss Web Server\htdocs\shoutbox\board.php on line 384

The thing is this happens on all my scripts including the forums i tried to install but all the scripts work fine on other hosts.

my url:

http://www.betasite.no-ip.com

If the link is dead the server is off.

Im using the new beta version, the throttle thing kicks ass.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
olly86
-


Joined: 25 Apr 2003
Posts: 993
Location: Wiltshire, UK

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 12:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

can you post a link to the script so we can download a copy, to test?
_________________
Olly
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
TRUSTAbyss
-


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 3720
Location: USA, GA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

These are Notices , since we get so many of the same posts every day
I might as well explain how to turn these Notices off , open your php.ini
file in C:\Windows or C:\Winnt depending on your OS and do this.

Find: error_reporting = E_ALL;

change this line to

error_reporting = E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE;


Find: register_globals = Off

change this line to

register_globals = On

Note: If you feel like not displaying any errors , use this directive , find
display_errors = On and change it to display_errors = Off , Enjoy PHP!

Now their you have it , a perfect configuration of the php.ini file , its not that
hard to configure but I was once confused by these so who am I kidding. LateR!
_________________
Computer Programmer & Networking Specialist

Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
mrblue
-


Joined: 24 Feb 2004
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

that work a jiffy thanks :)

Could you help me with 1 more thing lol

i installed a image gallery and it wants a gd libary or something so it can create thumnails i got lost at this point any idea what its going on about lol sorry for being a pain.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
TRUSTAbyss
-


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 3720
Location: USA, GA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your in luck because I've written a GD Tutorial even though it never
went on my website , look at the bunny's at the bottom of the page.

http://os17fan.cjb.net/phpgd_install.html

Edit: Sorry no more bunnies :(
_________________
Computer Programmer & Networking Specialist



Last edited by TRUSTAbyss on Mon Nov 22, 2004 1:30 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
mrblue
-


Joined: 24 Feb 2004
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 6:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I followed your intrustions to the letter and well the script still doesn't create thumnails lol so im think its not working, i restarted the server to see if that does anything and well it doesn't. Only other thing i can think of doing is using another image gallery but there's so many to choose from lol.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
TRUSTAbyss
-


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 3720
Location: USA, GA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe you configured something wrong , if you would like me to connect to your computer remotely so I can view
the problem , add me to your MSN or Windows Messenger buddy list , msn@trustabyss.com , Hope that helps !
_________________
Computer Programmer & Networking Specialist



Last edited by TRUSTAbyss on Thu Aug 04, 2005 7:37 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
mrblue
-


Joined: 24 Feb 2004
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for your but its a big deal it was more me being to lazy to make thumnails lol, anyho i dont have msnmessenger never use it, ive always used icq.
_________________
WolframHartLA - Angel Forums and general sci-fi
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mrblue
-


Joined: 24 Feb 2004
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 11:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry for being a pain now that the notice messages/ errors messages have gone i was able to get my forums working on my server no more pop-ups lol and bandwidth limit, but the only problem i have is that the e-mail that sends new uses passwords doesn't get sent is that something to do with the php send mail stuff if so how do i turn it on.
_________________
WolframHartLA - Angel Forums and general sci-fi
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
trinity
-


Joined: 11 Nov 2003
Posts: 20
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2004 8:52 am    Post subject: How To Install GD Reply with quote

To install GD (version 2)...

If you installed PHP using the installer, go to php.net and download the zip archive that matches your installer version...

You just need to extract "php_gd2.dll" from the zip archive and put it into your PHP's installation.

Create a subfolder called "extensions" under /php. This will be used for any and all extensions that you add... You can actually extract all the extensions into this folder, instead of just GD. They won't be activated unless you activate them.

Extract the "php_gd2.dll" file to the extensions folder you created.

For PHP 4, it is in the archive in the /extensions folder.
For PHP 5, it is in the archive in the /ext folder

Open your php.ini file found in C:\WINDOWS or C:\WINNT

Find the extension directory directive (around line 434) and change it to:

Code:
extension_dir = "./extensions"


Find "extension=php_gd2.dll" and remove the semi-colon at the beginning of the line.

Code:
extension=php_gd2.dll

_________________
Please feel free to visit my websites:
BNBT EasyTracker | The Trinity Forums | The Piscean Realm of ZionMatrix
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> PHP All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB phpBB Group