Windows 10 and inbound TCP limit?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> Networking Issues
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Morm
-


Joined: 28 Jan 2019
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2019 9:47 pm    Post subject: Windows 10 and inbound TCP limit? Reply with quote

Hi
Does the inbound TCP connections limit in Windows 10 Pro apply with Abyss?
i have a 1g/1g internet connection and find I get failures when multple IPs are coming in to do a simple http get. The internet connection is only showing less than 70Mbit usage so is not maxing out by a long way (speedtest does 1gig upload fine).
All other Abyss setttings are set to unlimited too and the files are served off a ramdisk

Im thinking Windows is dropping the ionbound connections perhaps?

(I cant seem to find this answered already anywhere)
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
admin
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Mar 2002
Posts: 921

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2019 4:52 pm    Post subject: Re: Windows 10 and inbound TCP limit? Reply with quote

Morm,

Have you first extended the number of maximum simultaneous requests Abyss Web Server could handle? This parameter is documented in http://aprelium.com/data/doc/2/abyssws-win-doc-html/servergeneral.html#SERVER-PARAMETERS-MAXCONN .

How are the tests done? Are you downloading a single large file or are you using a tool that will make several requests to your files? How large are these files?

By the way, do you have an antivirus or any router (with content inspection) or a firewall? These are usually a large bandwidth limiter when you host a server.

Here is an old document about tuning Windows TCP/IP implementation: http://smallvoid.com/article/winnt-tcpip-max-limit.html . But keep in mind that we don't recommend fiddling with them unless you know what to do.

Also knowing how you're trying to saturate your connection is usually a key to understand why you're experiencing this limit.

Also, keep in mind that most routers "favor" download and are not well tuned for uploading data. They are favoring most consumers behavior who download more than they upload.

Oh, by the way, your ISP is probably also capping your upload speed. A saturation test has to be done locally first to test if your network card does really handle on its own the speed before moving further.
_________________
Follow @abyssws on Twitter
Subscribe to our newsletter
_________________
Forum Administrator
Aprelium - https://aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Morm
-


Joined: 28 Jan 2019
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2019 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

max requests is set to 0 (unlimited)

The tests are via fast.com and speedtest.net - both report 1Gbit up and 1Gbit dpwn - up to 80,000pps reported on the Mikrotik RB750gr3 router

The server is running basic process of a file server processing HTTP Get requests for a 25MB file via NAT port 80 forward.

individually or in in ones or twos, the speed can go up to 1Gb when fetching the file. But when there are multiple requests from diverse IPs (about 12-15 per min) it caps out about 60Mbit. 5000pps

Have tried with firewall off (ESET)

This is what makes me think a Windows TCP connection limitation maybe
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
admin
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Mar 2002
Posts: 921

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2019 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Morm wrote:
This is what makes me think a Windows TCP connection
limitation maybe


It would be interesting to run the tests on the same hardware but with Linux as the OS.
_________________
Follow @abyssws on Twitter
Subscribe to our newsletter
_________________
Forum Administrator
Aprelium - https://aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Morm
-


Joined: 28 Jan 2019
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2019 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

same result on linux too and with another router.
I suspect now it is a NIC limitation (82579LM Intel)
So im going to try another NIC and see
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
pkSML
-


Joined: 29 May 2006
Posts: 900
Location: Michigan, USA

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 4:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could be the router. You can set up a laptop/desktop to be your router. I am using a laptop running pfsense ( https://www.pfsense.org/download/ ). If you'd like to go this route, I can suggest some helpful youtube videos. For that hefty of an Internet connection, you could have state table congestion with your current router. They're not built for this type of work.

You can reference this review https://www.smallnetbuilder.com/lanwan/lanwan-reviews/33140-microtik-rb750gr3-hex-router-reviewed

And BTW, Intel NICs are considered the better brand. They aren't known to skimp. (Realtek does skimp and is unreliable.)
_________________
Stephen
Need a LitlURL?


http://CodeBin.yi.org
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Morm
-


Joined: 28 Jan 2019
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2019 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I fixed it.
The Windows and Linux PCs were using the same Intel NIC
I replaced the NIC in the windows 10 PC with an Asus XG-C100C and now the fileserver is running to the full speed of the internet connection.
So hardware limitation rather than software it seems.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> Networking Issues All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB phpBB Group