https not working

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> SSL/Certificates
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Pishe
-


Joined: 21 Jan 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 2:57 am    Post subject: https not working Reply with quote

I updated my abyss with the new abyss webserver 2.5.
I did exactly what this url said regarding ssl http://www.aprelium.com/abyssws/articles/self-signed-cert.html

but can't get it going. It works if I use it locally. https://localhost
but when I pulish it won't work.

Please, help if you can.

Pishe
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Moxxnixx
-


Joined: 21 Jun 2003
Posts: 1226
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 3:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Remember that port 443 is being used for HTTPS.
Make sure it's accessible thru your router/firewall.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Pishe
-


Joined: 21 Jan 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 6:34 am    Post subject: https not working Reply with quote

Thanks for your response.

Yes I did that after I upgraded it to 2.5.
So my default host is running on port 443. I have forwarded port 443 in my router. The protocol is on HTTPS
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Moxxnixx
-


Joined: 21 Jun 2003
Posts: 1226
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 6:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you allowing traffic to connect to Abyss in your firewall?
I did a port scan on your IP address and it's showing 443 is not open.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Pishe
-


Joined: 21 Jan 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 5:01 pm    Post subject: HTTPS not working Reply with quote

Yes. I allowed traffic to connect to Abyss in my firewall through 443.
But when I wanted to connect to my website using HTTPS://www.mywebsite.com I was getting "The page cannot be displayed." However when I was typing HTTP:// www.mywebsite.com
I was getting into my linksys router's page. That is why I had to change it to port 80 and change the protocol to http before someone could change my router's configuration.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
TRUSTAbyss
-


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 3719
Location: USA, GA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 6:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Edit: Read Aprelium's reply
_________________
Computer Programmer & Networking Specialist



Last edited by TRUSTAbyss on Wed Oct 03, 2007 11:09 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
admin
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Mar 2002
Posts: 934

PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 11:05 pm    Post subject: Re: HTTPS not working Reply with quote

Pishe,

That's the classical problem of routers which do not support loopback. So they won't allow to access your site using their external IP.

http://www.aprelium.com/abyssws/articles/access-test.html should give you more details about how to overcome that limitation.
_________________
Follow @abyssws on Twitter
Subscribe to our newsletter
_________________
Forum Administrator
Aprelium - https://aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> SSL/Certificates All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB phpBB Group