Name host???

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> General Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
noman_quraishi
-


Joined: 13 Aug 2007
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 4:48 am    Post subject: Name host??? Reply with quote

i am just surprise b/c when i add a host name in AByssX2 it never displays that server how ever shows its status running but i cant browse it??
like i add two host one without any name so Abyss call that default & i can browse & view that by http://localhost:port# but the one i just put any name like http://nomi it never borwse neither opens ?? HOw ever its stauts is always showing as UP & running ?? why is that so ? & how i can access this name server too ..
Back to top View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
aprelium
-


Joined: 22 Mar 2002
Posts: 6800

PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 4:01 pm    Post subject: Re: Name host??? Reply with quote

noman_quraishi,

When you add a host with a name, you'll have to ensure that the name exists and is correctly registered. Declaring a host with a name doesn't create that name on the Internet.

Please check http://www.aprelium.com/abyssws/articles/x2-hosts.html to know how to set up a host with a name in X2.
_________________
Support Team
Aprelium - http://www.aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
pkSML
-


Joined: 29 May 2006
Posts: 908
Location: Michigan, USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 10:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since http://nomi is not a domain name, this name cannot exist on the internet.

But you can modify your hosts file to point http://nomi to localhost and then you would see it. No one else will, though.


For more info, Search
_________________
Stephen
Need a LitlURL?


http://CodeBin.yi.org
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
easytec
-


Joined: 17 Aug 2007
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 8:28 pm    Post subject: Re: Name host??? Reply with quote

aprelium wrote:
noman_quraishi,

When you add a host with a name, you'll have to ensure that the name exists and is correctly registered. Declaring a host with a name doesn't create that name on the Internet.

Please check http://www.aprelium.com/abyssws/articles/x2-hosts.html to know how to set up a host with a name in X2.


Didn't anyone know that domain names cannot be overidden BUT YOU CAN buy a nameserver box. Nameserver boxes accept a call from someone over the internet, so if someone is calling http://myhostname.net/ the server will detect if there is a nameserver already picking it up, if not and it is entered into the nameserver file by the purchaser of the nameserver,
then the namserver will redirect that caller to the IP address.
BUT IT IS AGAINST THE LAW TO HAVE IT REGISTERED WITHOUT PERMISSION BY THE NATIONAL WEB SERVICES ORGANISATION. This helps protect copyright and to protect other domain names being taken over.
Thus, you might as well register it with someone elses nameserver to save the hassle.
I think what you are trying to do is called LAN access name points, Windows and some web servers uses the computer name and officialises it with the work group on the LAN server.


Last edited by easytec on Sun Aug 19, 2007 8:30 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB phpBB Group