WWW will not work

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> PHP
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
golowenow
-


Joined: 29 Apr 2004
Posts: 35
Location: Washington state

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 12:56 am    Post subject: WWW will not work Reply with quote

I have been running abyss a long time now and love it. I have a problem with it. I am running dual websites on it and am using the script that was posted for multiple websites. here is my version of it.

<?php
//get domain entered in browser
if ($_SERVER['HTTP_HOST'] == "golowesstamps.com") {

//forward to appropriate page
header("Location: index1.php");
exit;

}
//get domain entered in browser
if ($_SERVER['HTTP_HOST'] == "www.golowesstamps.com") {

//forward to appropriate page
header("Location: index1.php");
exit;

}
//get domain entered in browser
if ($_SERVER['HTTP_HOST'] == "wildercraft.com") {

//forward to appropriate page
header("Location: wildercraft/index.php");
exit;

}
//get domain entered in browser
if ($_SERVER['HTTP_HOST'] == "www.wildercraft.com") {

//forward to appropriate page
header("Location: wildercraft/index.php");
exit;

}
//get domain entered in browser
if ($_SERVER['HTTP_HOST'] == "127.0.0.1") {

//forward to appropriate page
header("Location: index1.php");
exit;

}
//end duplicating, insert below.

//else show Main Page
else {

header("Location: /index1.php");
exit;
}

?>

My problem is....when one types in golowesstamps.com or wildercraft.com to go to the sites they go there with no problem. If they type www.golowesstamps.com I get a server timeout error page.
Any ideas why??? Info greatly appreciated.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
golowenow
-


Joined: 29 Apr 2004
Posts: 35
Location: Washington state

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 1:02 am    Post subject: The error is 504 Reply with quote

Gateway timeout. forgot to post this
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Arctic
-


Joined: 24 Sep 2004
Posts: 560

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 1:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Works for me...
Back to top View user's profile Send private message ICQ Number
golowenow
-


Joined: 29 Apr 2004
Posts: 35
Location: Washington state

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 4:49 am    Post subject: Apparently it is working Reply with quote

Well I feel kind of silly now. I am getting messages that the site DOES work using www.golowesstamps.com. The reason I posted this is because it will NOT work on the PC the abyss webserver is on for some reason. Any information as to why this is would be of interest to me. Have checked DYNDNS settings and such and all 4 names are set up so the problem does not exist there. Am running the Abyss webserver version 2 so maybe it is something with that. Any way, thank you for responses to this. set posts to notify me when one comes in. One of these days...if I ever get back to work, I will buy the server for the HOSTING thing and drop the script.
Best to all!
Jlowe
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
eyn
-


Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Posts: 32
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 4:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know the reason for that but I'm not sure if you're in the same situation. First of all, I'm not sure if your router support loopback so when you type in your domain it loops back to your own computer. For my case, my router does not support it and the way I can use my domain name to access my server is to to tweak the windows setting such that my domain name will point to 127.0.0.1 instead of my global IP, like the way how "localhost" points to 127.0.0.1.

For my case, when I do the tweak i used domain.com -> 127.0.0.1. So when I use domain.com, it points to 127.0.0.1. However, for www.domain.com, it will search the web for it and thus will try to connect to your global IP, for case which your router do not support loopback, it will display as connection timeout. In this case, you can do the tweak again using www.domain.com -> 127.0.0.1.

I'm not sure if you are in this situation but whatever.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> PHP All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB phpBB Group