*-solved-* PHP loads blank page

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> PHP
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
aciapia
-


Joined: 03 Jan 2004
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2006 6:59 pm    Post subject: *-solved-* PHP loads blank page Reply with quote

I installed php 5 using the aprelium tutorial and the package. The settings in script parameters and index files are correct. I am running Windows XP.

edit:
Here is the errors occuring in the fastcgi log:

02/Aug/2006:14:12:43 -0400 SUID: 0 PUID: 0 RUID: 0 URI: Reading 56 bytes failed = The process cannot access the file because it is being used by another process.
02/Aug/2006:14:12:43 -0400 SUID: 0 PUID: 0 RUID: 0 URI: timeout-header2!

fastcgi and cgi/isapi don't work. The browser returns a blank page and I can see the php code when I view the source. Nothing is wrong with the PHP syntax.

I just checked the PHP-configuration and display_errors is on.

It has been over a week and I still haven't solved this problem! I don't know what it could be I have all the settings right. I will get some screen shots.


Screenshots:
Scripting properties
Interperter settings


Last edited by aciapia on Tue Aug 22, 2006 8:16 pm; edited 15 times in total
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
AbyssUnderground
-


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 3855

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2006 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

www.abyssunderground.co.uk/tutorials-php.php

Please search the forum for an answer first in future.
_________________
Andy (AbyssUnderground) (previously The Inquisitor)
www.abyssunderground.co.uk
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pkSML
-


Joined: 29 May 2006
Posts: 913
Location: Michigan, USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2006 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check your script. It may contain errors. If a PHP script is missing as little as a quotation mark or semicolon, you will get a blank page.
For any more info, check your CGI error log. It should tell you where the problem is (if there is one).

If you want to post your PHP code in this thread for others to debug, go ahead. We might be able to help you.
_________________
Stephen
Need a LitlURL?


http://CodeBin.yi.org
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pkSML
-


Joined: 29 May 2006
Posts: 913
Location: Michigan, USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2006 9:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Based on your error message, you have FastCGI enabled. You should change your PHP interface from FastCGI to CGI/ISAPI. AbyssUnderground's link will give you explicit instructions (with pictures) on how to do this if you are unsure.
I have had my fair share of trouble using FastCGI with Perl.
_________________
Stephen
Need a LitlURL?


http://CodeBin.yi.org
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cmxflash
-


Joined: 11 Dec 2004
Posts: 872

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 4:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pkSML wrote:
Check your script. It may contain errors. If a PHP script is missing as little as a quotation mark or semicolon, you will get a blank page.


Assuming you have display_errors set to off in the PHP-configuration.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
aciapia
-


Joined: 03 Jan 2004
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2006 7:55 am    Post subject: help? Reply with quote

its been a couple weeks now. Still nothing new
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
roganty
-


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 357
Location: Bristol, UK

PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2006 8:49 am    Post subject: Re: help? Reply with quote

aciapia wrote:
its been a couple weeks now. Still nothing new


This is a long shot, but what php tag are you using in your scripts?

Code:
<?php
//Code here
?>

Code:
<?
//Code here
?>


Edit: This is my 200th post :D
_________________
Anthony R

Roganty
| Links-Links.co.uk
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
abyssisthebest
-


Joined: 30 Jun 2005
Posts: 319
Location: Boston, UK

PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2006 10:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you using gzip compression?

I had a problem like this,
_________________
My online Portfolio
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
aprelium
-


Joined: 22 Mar 2002
Posts: 6800

PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2006 2:37 pm    Post subject: Re: help? Reply with quote

aciapia wrote:
its been a couple weeks now. Still nothing new

Please set the Interface of your PHP interpreter to CGI/ISAPI.
_________________
Support Team
Aprelium - http://www.aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
aciapia
-


Joined: 03 Jan 2004
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 3:49 am    Post subject: grr Reply with quote

Quote:
Please set the Interface of your PHP interpreter to CGI/ISAPI.

They have been set to CGI/ISAPI
Quote:
This is a long shot, but what php tag are you using in your scripts?

Code:
<?php
//Code here
?>


Code:
<?
//Code here
?>



I tried both still nothing
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
bprsk8r4272
-


Joined: 07 Mar 2006
Posts: 124
Location: Rochester, NY

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 4:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

when you installed php which did you use to insall zip or installer if you used the installer your missing files and you need to overwrite them with the zip version
_________________
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
Yami King
-


Joined: 08 Sep 2005
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 3:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you restarted your webserver every time you made changes to the configuration of php(.ini) or the webserver?
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Tom Chapman
-


Joined: 09 Jul 2005
Posts: 933
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 3:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why has no one mentioned it!? :o

02/Aug/2006:14:12:43 -0400 SUID: 0 PUID: 0 RUID: 0 URI: Reading 56 bytes failed = The process cannot access the file because it is being used by another process.

File in use???


Last edited by Tom Chapman on Wed Aug 16, 2006 10:19 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Yami King
-


Joined: 08 Sep 2005
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 9:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In use of what.

I mean... Windows allows the file to be ran, even if it's opened by an editor or such, as most of the other OS's I know about.

There's no process I know about which doesn't allow the file to be ran from a webserver, without a (auto infect) virus or such.

One thing it could be is that the file is ran by 2 processes of the webserver subprocesses.

Meaning it could be PHP in CGI/ISAPI while another PHP wants to take the process over, like FastCGI.

I had this ones XD.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
aciapia
-


Joined: 03 Jan 2004
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu Aug 17, 2006 3:50 am    Post subject: ok Reply with quote

I used the installer for php5 package on the aprelium site. Do i need to get any other files or anything?
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
aprelium
-


Joined: 22 Mar 2002
Posts: 6800

PostPosted: Fri Aug 18, 2006 3:13 pm    Post subject: Re: ok Reply with quote

aciapia wrote:
I used the installer for php5 package on the aprelium site. Do i need to get any other files or anything?


Install PHP 5 as explained in http://www.aprelium.com/abyssws/php5win.html BUT configure PHP to use the CGI/ISAPI interface instead ofd FastCGI as mentioned in the instructions.
_________________
Support Team
Aprelium - http://www.aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
aciapia
-


Joined: 03 Jan 2004
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2006 8:17 pm    Post subject: finally Reply with quote

I finally solved the problem. My PHP files were in UNICODE and they have to be ANSI. Thanks to TrustAbyss
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> PHP All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB phpBB Group