mysql on mac

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> Databases
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
canuckid
Guest





PostPosted: Wed Jun 07, 2006 9:15 pm    Post subject: mysql on mac Reply with quote

can someone point me in the right direction of how to install mysql on mac os x? i've got php installed, but i can never figure out how to install sql... i hope i don't have to switch back to apache.. **shudders**
Back to top
TRUSTAbyss
-


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 3714
Location: USA, GA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 07, 2006 9:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Download the DMG Image from:
http://dev.mysql.com/downloads/mysql/4.1.html

Install MySQL using the DMG Image you downloaded. Now download the PHP5
source package from www.php.net

Double click the tar.gz source file to empty the contents. Browse to this newly
created folder from the command line and run the following command to build
PHP5 in your /Applications folder.

Quote:
./configure --prefix=/Applications/PHP5 --with-curl --with-zlib --with-mysql=/usr/local/mysql --enable-mbstring --enable-fastcgi
make install


Edit: The "make install" command has been added

Now once PHP5 is built, you can follow the Windows phpMyAdmin tutorial for
configuring your MySQL settings. Hope this helps.

phpMyAdmin Tutorial:
http://www.trustabyss.com/pma_install.html

Note: You need the Xcode (Developer Tools) to build PHP5.

Sincerely, TRUSTAbyss
_________________
Computer Programmer & Networking Specialist



Last edited by TRUSTAbyss on Thu Oct 26, 2006 10:19 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
canuckid
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Jun 09, 2006 12:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

TRUSTAbyss wrote:
Download the DMG Image from:
http://dev.mysql.com/downloads/mysql/4.1.html

Install MySQL using the DMG Image you downloaded. Now download the PHP5
source package from www.php.net

Double click the tar.gz source file to empty the contents. Browse to this newly
created folder from the command line and run the following command to build
PHP5 in your /Applications folder.

Quote:
./configure --prefix=/Applications/PHP5 --with-curl --with-zlib --with-mysql=/usr/local/mysql --enable-mbstring --enable-fastcgi


Now once PHP5 is built, you can follow the Windows phpMyAdmin tutorial for
configuring your MySQL settings. Hope this helps.

phpMyAdmin Tutorial:
http://www.trustabyss.com/pma_install.html

Note: You need the Xcode (Developer Tools) to build PHP5.

Sincerely, TRUSTAbyss


thanks for the tut!

peace,
canuckid
Back to top
canuckid
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Jun 09, 2006 12:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wait, i have a question.

when i set up php in the abyss control panel, do i select fastcgi?
Back to top
TRUSTAbyss
-


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 3714
Location: USA, GA

PostPosted: Fri Jun 09, 2006 3:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, it can be CGI/FastCGI. I provided the --enable-fastcgi so that you can
compile PHP for FastCGI support. Enjoy Abyss Web Server! :-)
_________________
Computer Programmer & Networking Specialist

Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
aprelium
-


Joined: 22 Mar 2002
Posts: 6800

PostPosted: Fri Jun 09, 2006 12:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

canuckid wrote:
wait, i have a question.

when i set up php in the abyss control panel, do i select fastcgi?

If you have compiled PHP, skip "Download and install PHP" in http://www.aprelium.com/abyssws/php.html#mac and follow the rest of the instructions.
_________________
Support Team
Aprelium - http://www.aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
nsb
-


Joined: 25 Oct 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

aprelium wrote:

If you have compiled PHP, skip "Download and install PHP" in http://www.aprelium.com/abyssws/php.html#mac and follow the rest of the instructions.



I'm trying to get Abyss going on an Mac mini, and followed the directions above, but when I get to this step, I'm not seing a /bin folder or a php to set the inteperator to.

I am very new to OS X, but have been using Abyss for a while on a PC (which I'm trying to get away from).

Thanks for any guidence.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
TRUSTAbyss
-


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 3714
Location: USA, GA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi NSB,

Read my small tutorial at the top to install PHP. After you've done what I posted
at the top, you can read Aprelium's tutorial. I run a "Mac OS X" Server.
_________________
Computer Programmer & Networking Specialist

Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
nsb
-


Joined: 25 Oct 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 9:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually I did, but where I run into the problem is after:

Quote:
/configure --prefix=/Applications/PHP5 --with-curl --with-zlib --with-mysql=/usr/local/mysql --enable-mbstring --enable-fastcgi


but I get to the step of setting up the interpreter in abyss, I'm not seeing a /bin folder or a php to set the interpreter to.

what did I mess up? :)
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
TRUSTAbyss
-


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 3714
Location: USA, GA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The PHP folder location on your Mac will be in "/Applications". Make sure you
have "X Code Tools" installed before you compile PHP.
_________________
Computer Programmer & Networking Specialist

Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
aprelium
-


Joined: 22 Mar 2002
Posts: 6800

PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 9:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nsb wrote:
Actually I did, but where I run into the problem is after:

Quote:
/configure --prefix=/Applications/PHP5 --with-curl --with-zlib --with-mysql=/usr/local/mysql --enable-mbstring --enable-fastcgi


but I get to the step of setting up the interpreter in abyss, I'm not seeing a /bin folder or a php to set the interpreter to.

what did I mess up? :)


After calling configure, you'll have to build PHP. For that, execute:

Code:
make install

_________________
Support Team
Aprelium - http://www.aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
nsb
-


Joined: 25 Oct 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
After calling configure, you'll have to build PHP. For that, execute:
Code:
make install


Thank you! That was what I was missing. As I think I mentioned, I've very new to Mac's and OS X, but I'm quickly liking it more than the nasty PC's I work on day in and day out :)
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
TRUSTAbyss
-


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 3714
Location: USA, GA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry NSB, I forgot to tell you "make install", I was extremely tired the night I
wrote that. My apologies to you.
_________________
Computer Programmer & Networking Specialist

Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
nsb
-


Joined: 25 Oct 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TRUSTAbyss wrote:
Sorry NSB, I forgot to tell you "make install", I was extremely tired the night I
wrote that. My apologies to you.


No problem, just hate being the newbie /w OS X, but now that I have a personal mac, maybe I'll be able to pick up a bit quicker... I've used pc's since the days of DOS 3.1, through Windows 3.0 to XP.

Thanks again for the help!
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
TRUSTAbyss
-


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 3714
Location: USA, GA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 10:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's a "Free VMware Server" available at www.vmware.com that you can
download. I'm using it to help me learn more about Linux.

Note: You don't need IIS to use it when it asks that you need IIS. Just hit
the Custom option and uncheck the "Server Management" option.
_________________
Computer Programmer & Networking Specialist

Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> Databases All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB phpBB Group