One click (almost) to boost PHP speed

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> PHP
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
aprelium
-


Joined: 22 Mar 2002
Posts: 6800

PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2006 5:38 pm    Post subject: One click (almost) to boost PHP speed Reply with quote

If you have upgraded to the new version 2.3 from a previous release where PHP CGI was installed, all you have to do is to:
* Open Console > Host – Configure > Scripting Parameters
* Click on "Edit" (the pencil icon) corresponding to the PHP interpreter in the Interpreters table.
* Change Interface from CGI/ISAPI to FastCGI
* Press OK
* Press OK
* Press Restart

If you are adding PHP support to the new Beta, in the Interpreter definition screen, set Interface to FastCGI.

With this minor change, PHP will be running using the FastCGI interface. PHP processes will be created on demand by the server and each of them will service more than a single request. This solves the CGI performance problem of creating a new process for each request and dramatically improves the overall processing speed of PHP scripts.
_________________
Support Team
Aprelium - http://www.aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
cmxflash
-


Joined: 11 Dec 2004
Posts: 872

PostPosted: Sun Apr 30, 2006 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just changed from the regular interface to Fast-CGI.

Still, should there be so many processes running?


*Edit
PHP seems to have trouble using readfile since I've upgraded to Fast-CGI.
An example can be found at http://2q4u.com

Try hitting the reload-button a few times. PHP will simply stop serving the flash-file after 41 KB or 73 KB, for some reason.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
aprelium
-


Joined: 22 Mar 2002
Posts: 6800

PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2006 12:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cmxflash wrote:
Just changed from the regular interface to Fast-CGI.

Still, should there be so many processes running?


That's how FastCGI works. Please read the discussion in http://www.aprelium.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=52131#52131 for more information.

Quote:
*Edit
PHP seems to have trouble using readfile since I've upgraded to Fast-CGI.
An example can be found at http://2q4u.com

Try hitting the reload-button a few times. PHP will simply stop serving the flash-file after 41 KB or 73 KB, for some reason.


Could you please send us the PHP code that you are using so that we could test it?
_________________
Support Team
Aprelium - http://www.aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
cmxflash
-


Joined: 11 Dec 2004
Posts: 872

PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2006 5:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not going to use FastCGI at this moment, seems to be a bit unstable.

Anyway, here's the index and flash-file used on 2q4u.com:
<Removed>


Last edited by cmxflash on Wed May 03, 2006 2:16 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
chewzzqq
-


Joined: 28 Sep 2005
Posts: 198

PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2006 6:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

my problem that day,i told apprelium,
is same with cmxflash

sorry for my poor english that day
_________________
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
aprelium
-


Joined: 22 Mar 2002
Posts: 6800

PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2006 10:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cmxflash,

Thanks. We'll check it and post more feedback as soon as possible.
_________________
Support Team
Aprelium - http://www.aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
TRUSTAbyss
-


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 3752
Location: USA, GA

PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2006 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

According to the official PHP website, it seems that FastCGI was re-implemented,
so maybe they fixed it. Try the new PHP version and see if it works.

Edit: Read Admin's response.


Last edited by TRUSTAbyss on Tue May 02, 2006 5:51 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
admin
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Mar 2002
Posts: 1295

PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2006 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TRUSTpunk wrote:
According to the official PHP website, it seems that FastCGI was re-implemented
so maybe they fixed it. Try the new PHP version and see if it works.

PHP v5.1.3 (Just released!)
http://www.php.net/

Quote:
FastCGI interface was completely reimplemented.

FastCGI on PHP 5.1.3 seems buggy. PHP processes take 100% of the processor time and do not process the pages. We're checking the changes they have made and we'll keep you updated.

Meanwhile, if you have time, could you do the test on your side to confirm that behavior with PHP 5.1.3 (FastCGI mode ony).
_________________
Follow @abyssws on Twitter
Subscribe to our newsletter
_________________
Forum Administrator
Aprelium - https://aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
TRUSTAbyss
-


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 3752
Location: USA, GA

PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2006 5:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Done the tests and CGI works fine, but FastCGI doesn't work.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
AbyssUnderground
-


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 3855

PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2006 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Damn thats bad. More work to do for aprelium. :-(

This is my 2000th post on the forum :-)
_________________
Andy (AbyssUnderground) (previously The Inquisitor)
www.abyssunderground.co.uk
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
aprelium
-


Joined: 22 Mar 2002
Posts: 6800

PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2006 10:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

admin wrote:
FastCGI on PHP 5.1.3 seems buggy. PHP processes take 100% of the processor time and do not process the pages. We're checking the changes they have made and we'll keep you updated.


Thank you for your feedback.

Here is the problem: The FastCGI specification states that we can use local network sokets or named pipes for the communication between the server and the FastCGI processes. But for an unknown reason, the new FastCGI code in PHP 5.1.3 has removed the local network sokets support. And unfortunatley, this is the mode that Abyss Web Server is using for its FastCGI support.

So we've just started working on implementing the second FastCGI mode (named pipes). That's easier for us than reporting the problem to the PHP team which seemed to us in the past not disposed to read criticism about its coding decisions (why removing something that is required by the FastCGI specification and which was supported by PHP since version 4.3?).
_________________
Support Team
Aprelium - http://www.aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
darkultra
-


Joined: 23 Jan 2006
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 12:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I haven't had any problems with Abyss Web Server X1 v 2.3.0.5, FastCGI and PHP Version 5.1.2

http://jooh.no/testphp.php

FastCGI sped up remote php script directory listing, but it still is faster to browser remotely with built-in directory listing. Directory listing on the server itself is just as fast no matter script or built-in.

test: http://jooh.no/root/

The Inquisitor wrote:
Damn thats bad. More work to do for aprelium. :-(

This is my 2000th post on the forum :-)


Gongratulations but please try to post useful posts inspired by insight and not by a post counter, u scum.

Thank you for your understanding.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
TRUSTAbyss
-


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 3752
Location: USA, GA

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 2:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

darkultra wrote:
I haven't had any problems with Abyss Web Server X1 v 2.3.0.5, FastCGI and PHP Version 5.1.2


That's because the PHP development team didn't change their FastCGI code
at the time. Aprelium is currently working on a fix.

P.S. Can I have a copy of your Directory Listing script to add to my new Mod's
site when it's ready? I'm trying to gather as many as I can to post on the new
website next month.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
aprelium
-


Joined: 22 Mar 2002
Posts: 6800

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 9:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

darkultra wrote:
I haven't had any problems with Abyss Web Server X1 v 2.3.0.5, FastCGI and PHP Version 5.1.2


PHP 5.1.2 is the latest version using the "sane" FastCGI code. The mess started with 5.1.3 and continued with 5.1.4.
_________________
Support Team
Aprelium - http://www.aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
aprelium-beta
-


Joined: 24 Jun 2004
Posts: 383

PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2006 11:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The new test release 2.3.1.3 ( http://www.aprelium.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=27 ) works fine with PHP 5.1.3 and later when using the FastCGI interface. Ensure that the interface is set to "FastCGI (Local - Pipes)" to have them run flawlessly.
_________________
Beta Testing Team
Aprelium - http://www.aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
etorvinen
-


Joined: 02 Jan 2005
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2006 1:12 am    Post subject: RE: fastcgi Reply with quote

i also did some hunting around in the php.ini file and changed:

; FastCGI under IIS (on WINNT based OS) supports the ability to impersonate
; security tokens of the calling client. This allows IIS to define the
; security context that the request runs under. mod_fastcgi under Apache
; does not currently support this feature (03/17/2002)
; Set to 1 if running under IIS. Default is zero.
fastcgi.impersonate = 1; it was 0

if someone could try this because it seems to help.
_________________
;@
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
aprelium
-


Joined: 22 Mar 2002
Posts: 6800

PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2006 1:15 pm    Post subject: Re: RE: fastcgi Reply with quote

etorvinen,

It's probably a coincidence but impersonate has no direct effect (from a functional point of view) on the way FastCGI works on Abyss Web Server. It is rather related to the user account and permissions.
_________________
Support Team
Aprelium - http://www.aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
chokyiooi
-


Joined: 17 Feb 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 3:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your tips on increasing PHP speed. Will explore more about FastCGI later.
_________________
Chokyi Ooi
Your Web Hosting Resources
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cnledmart
-


Joined: 15 Jul 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Jul 15, 2009 9:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

it's useful to me very much.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
akreech
-


Joined: 09 Sep 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 9:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

that's what we call innovation. thanks guys for sharing what you know. hope you'll post other suggestions to speed up.
_________________
personal background checks | background search
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bagrm
-


Joined: 12 Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Location: England

PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2010 4:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does this still apply to the newer versions of PHP do you know? Cheers.
_________________
Bonded ADSL
Back to top View user's profile Send private message ICQ Number
TRUSTAbyss
-


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 3752
Location: USA, GA

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2010 6:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bagrm wrote:
Does this still apply to the newer versions of PHP do you know? Cheers.


Yes!
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> PHP All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB phpBB Group