Help with Banner Script

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> Perl
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
naschpitz
-


Joined: 20 Jan 2003
Posts: 9
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2004 5:28 pm    Post subject: Help with Banner Script Reply with quote

Hi!
I've already tested this Banner script and it's working.
http://astronomiahoje.no-ip.com/cgi-bin/banner.cgi

I just don't know why it doesn't load up with the page ( http://astronomiahoje.no-ip.com ) (should be shown at the bottom).

The readme file says that this code:
<!--#include virtual="/cgi-bin/banner.cgi" -->
must be inserted at the page. I already made it, but it still doesn't work.

Thanks!
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number
iNaNimAtE
-


Joined: 05 Nov 2003
Posts: 2381
Location: Everywhere you're not.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2004 10:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're trying to use SSI, but you are on a PHP (.php) page. Instead, use this:
Code:
<?php include '/cgi-bin/banner.cgi'; ?>

_________________
Bienvenidos!
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number
naschpitz
-


Joined: 20 Jan 2003
Posts: 9
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2004 11:28 pm    Post subject: Help with Banner Script Reply with quote

Thanks for your help, iNaNimAtE, but I don't know why it still doesn't work. :(
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number
iNaNimAtE
-


Joined: 05 Nov 2003
Posts: 2381
Location: Everywhere you're not.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2004 11:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I tried the actual location to the banner, and it is a broken image.

Can you please show us the banner source, and 10 lines above and below where you put the include?
_________________
Bienvenidos!
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number
naschpitz
-


Joined: 20 Jan 2003
Posts: 9
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2004 1:33 am    Post subject: Help with Banner Script Reply with quote

The banner image source is: http://astronomiahoje.no-ip.com/Imagens/inferior.jpg

The script source is: http://astronomiahoje.no-ip.com/cgi-bin/banner.cgi

The 10 lines above are:

<input type="hidden" name="basehref" value="http://astronomiahoje.com">
<input type="hidden" name="template" value="default">
<input type="submit" value="Buscar" style="font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8 pt; color: #FFFFFF; background-color: #111111">
</font></p>
</form>
</td>
<td width="100" align="center" bordercolor="#111111" bgcolor="#0066CC" height="29">
&nbsp;</td>
<tr>
<td width="780" valign="top" bordercolor="000000" bgcolor="000000" colspan="3" height="1">
<?php include '/cgi-bin/banner.cgi'; ?>
</table>
</center>

Thanks for your help!
PS.: This script was running fine on my old payed server, but for some reason it's not now.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number
aprelium-beta
-


Joined: 24 Jun 2004
Posts: 383

PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2004 1:42 am    Post subject: Re: Help with Banner Script Reply with quote

naschpitz,

The problem is with your script which generates a wrong URL:

<img src="http://127.0.0.1/Imagens/inferior.jpg" ...>

127.0.0.1 is only valid locally and not for other computers. Never use a HARD CODED ABSOLUTE URL in your web site, replace http://127.0.0.1/Imagens/inferior.jpg with /Imagens/inferior.jpg which isn't dependant on your server IP or name.
_________________
Beta Testing Team
Aprelium - http://www.aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
naschpitz
-


Joined: 20 Jan 2003
Posts: 9
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2004 2:58 am    Post subject: Help with Banner Script Reply with quote

Ok, aprelium-beta, I've made some changes to avoid "HARD CODED ABSOLUTE URL", it seems to look right now, but the script doesn't work.
I'm using this code to insert .cgi " <? virtual('/cgi-bin/banner.cgi'); ?> "
and this " #!C:\Perl\bin\perl.exe " at banner.cgi
I've already tried that code that Inanimate told me to use.

Thanks!
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number
iNaNimAtE
-


Joined: 05 Nov 2003
Posts: 2381
Location: Everywhere you're not.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2004 4:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try using the code I gave you in a seperate file named "test.php" to see if it works.
_________________
Bienvenidos!
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number
naschpitz
-


Joined: 20 Jan 2003
Posts: 9
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2004 4:29 am    Post subject: Help with Banner Script Reply with quote

It tested it and didn't work.
Seems to be some problem of "connection" between .php, .html, .cgi.
CGI scripts simply don't run when inserted in some page.
PS.: I tryed to include that first code for html in a .html blank page to test, and even got another banner script, that didn't work too.

CGI scripts are not being loaded into .html, .php pages.
I've included in "SSI Associated Extensions" "php html htm" and enabled Exec cmd Execution, as well as SSI Processing Enabled, still nothing.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number
iNaNimAtE
-


Joined: 05 Nov 2003
Posts: 2381
Location: Everywhere you're not.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2004 5:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your index file is index.php, correct?

Is that written in actual PHP?
_________________
Bienvenidos!
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number
naschpitz
-


Joined: 20 Jan 2003
Posts: 9
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2004 5:26 pm    Post subject: Help with Banner Script Reply with quote

Yes, it is correct.
About the other question, actually, it's an old file. (1 year or more).
But what is making me crazy is that not even a simple blank .html page run a CGI script.
CGI scripts run very fine when executed "outside" a page. But they don't work when "called" by a code.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number
aprelium
-


Joined: 22 Mar 2002
Posts: 6800

PostPosted: Sat Jul 03, 2004 1:59 pm    Post subject: Re: Help with Banner Script Reply with quote

naschpitz wrote:
Ok, aprelium-beta, I've made some changes to avoid "HARD CODED ABSOLUTE URL", it seems to look right now, but the script doesn't work.
I'm using this code to insert .cgi " <? virtual('/cgi-bin/banner.cgi'); ?> "
and this " #!C:\Perl\bin\perl.exe " at banner.cgi
I've already tried that code that Inanimate told me to use.

Thanks!

We suggest using SSI again. Please send to support@aprelium.om your PHP page, banner.cgi, and your abyss.conf files and we'll give you the instructions to get this to work.
_________________
Support Team
Aprelium - http://www.aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
buddybuddha
-


Joined: 03 Aug 2004
Posts: 7
Location: nowhere, pa

PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2004 6:34 am    Post subject: exec Reply with quote

instead of using the include command, you can try putting this on your site.

Code:
<!-- #exec cgi="cgi file here" -->


That should work. Try it, because it worked for me.
_________________

It's fookin sweet!
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> Perl All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB phpBB Group