error 500 but not error message

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> PHP
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Giu
-


Joined: 20 May 2016
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 9:11 am    Post subject: error 500 but not error message Reply with quote

Hi.

I have deployed Abyss on a w2003 server. all works fine and extremely fast, loving Abyss, but I have one important problem don't know how to solve. I have a PHP page, that process a csv file, to import data into a MySQL database. using WAMP works like a charm, but with Abyss, I get an error 500 after some time the process started to run.

If I check the logs, I don't see errors. AFAIU, a 500 error comes from a syntax or error in code, but the same code runs OK under apache. Some idea what could be the problem? in log, I only see something like

Reading 8 bytes failed = The process cannot access the file because it is being used by another process.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Toasty
-


Joined: 21 Feb 2008
Posts: 296
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2016 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is an issue I've had with Abyss so many times, long running processes (DB queries etc).

For something like this, you're better off just running it from the CLI or setting up a scheduled task to process the data, and use the webpage to output the cached version.

Never had the issue with nginx or httpd though.
_________________
Security Blog
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
immicavn
-


Joined: 23 May 2018
Posts: 1
Location: Vietnam

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2018 3:31 am    Post subject: How to fix Reply with quote

I have the same issue, but dont know how to fix it.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
admin
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Mar 2002
Posts: 834

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2018 6:12 pm    Post subject: Re: How to fix Reply with quote

immicavn wrote:
I have the same issue, but dont know how to fix it.


Can you provide us with more details about the script or the application that is causing that error 500?
_________________
Follow @abyssws on Twitter
Subscribe to our newsletter
_________________
Forum Administrator
Aprelium - https://aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
timkaelin
-


Joined: 11 Jun 2018
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2018 6:08 pm    Post subject: server 500 Reply with quote

I have the same problem, and have sent an email to support a couple of days ago, no response yet. I seen where others have had the same problem , but I have not seen a resolution

My data set is about 22000 records, but when I reduce it to 10000, I don't get the error and everything works fine.

My fastcgi.log says

09/Jun/2018:19:27:34 -0400 SUID: 3 PUID: 3 RUID: 0 URI: timeout-header2!
09/Jun/2018:19:28:04 -0400 SUID: 3 PUID: 3 RUID: 1 URI: /ace/michaelsstuff/index.php Reading 8 bytes failed = The process cannot access the file because it is being used by another process.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
admin
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Mar 2002
Posts: 834

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 2:40 pm    Post subject: Re: server 500 Reply with quote

timkaelin,

What you describe is a typical behavior of a script which was aborted due to PHP/Abyss Web Server timeout configuration.

If a script takes more than 30 seconds to execute, special configuration should apply to let both PHP (in FastCGI/CGI mode) and Abyss Web Server know about that and wait for it longer.

At the PHP level, you should probably increase the timeout parameter is php.ini: the first is by default set to 30 (seconds):

Code:
max_execution_time = 30


See http://www.php.net/manual/en/info.configuration.php#ini.max-execution-time for more information about max_execution_time.

If your scripts may read very long POSTed data (for example large uploaded files), you may also need to increase the parameter max_input_time in php.ini ( http://www.php.net/manual/en/info.configuration.php#ini.max-input-time )

After each change to php.ini, do not forget to restart Abyss Web Server to ensure that all PHP instances are reloaded and take into account php.ini changes.

At the Web server level, the parameter controlling timeout is the "I/O timeout" parameter for FastCGI which is set to 30 seconds by default:

http://www.aprelium.com/data/doc/2/abyssws-win-doc-html/hosts-configuration.html#HOSTS-SCRIPTING-FASTCGI-IOTIMEOUT

Increasing this parameter should also make Abyss Web Server wait longer for PHP scripts before bailing out and considering them as "dead" or "unresponsive".
_________________
Follow @abyssws on Twitter
Subscribe to our newsletter
_________________
Forum Administrator
Aprelium - https://aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
timkaelin
-


Joined: 11 Jun 2018
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 2:49 pm    Post subject: time out Reply with quote

I had already changed the PHP ini file. But I did find the fastcgi time out in the server configuration, and changing that has fixed the problem. Thanks!
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
admin
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Mar 2002
Posts: 834

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 11:44 am    Post subject: Re: time out Reply with quote

timkaelin wrote:
I had already changed the PHP ini file. But I did find the fastcgi time out in the server configuration, and changing that has fixed the problem. Thanks!


You're welcome.
_________________
Follow @abyssws on Twitter
Subscribe to our newsletter
_________________
Forum Administrator
Aprelium - https://aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
laurent15
-


Joined: 16 Jun 2018
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2018 10:33 am    Post subject: Re: time out Reply with quote

timkaelin wrote:
I had already changed the PHP ini file. But I did find the fastcgi time out in the server configuration, and changing that has fixed the problem. Thanks!


Hello, i changed my Php.ini file but still have the issue... :(
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
admin
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Mar 2002
Posts: 834

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 5:34 pm    Post subject: Re: time out Reply with quote

laurent15 wrote:
timkaelin wrote:
I had already changed the PHP ini file. But I did find the fastcgi time out in the server configuration, and changing that has fixed the problem. Thanks!


Hello, i changed my Php.ini file but still have the issue... :(


Have you updated the fastcgi timeout too? If the problem persists, please contact our technical support by email and send us your abyss.conf file as well as your php.ini files. Do not forget to mention a reference to this forum post.
_________________
Follow @abyssws on Twitter
Subscribe to our newsletter
_________________
Forum Administrator
Aprelium - https://aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> PHP All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB phpBB Group