Blank page, forever "loading"

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> PHP
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
reets
-


Joined: 08 Apr 2005
Posts: 13
Location: NB, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2012 10:24 pm    Post subject: Blank page, forever "loading" Reply with quote

Out of the blue it seems that my PHP has for the most part stopped working. I would just get a blank page and it would appear to be "forever" loading (as long as I left the page open).

So I upgraded to v2.8 X1 and completely removed and reinstalled PHP 5.4.4 (pre-compiled version of the Aprelium site).

Same issue. I tried checking the various logs but couldn't find anything useful. If I just do a PHP file that echoes out text it seems to work but anything else doesn't. I even tried just doing a <?php phpinfo(); ?> and that won't work either. Tried Chrome beta, Firefox 14 and IE 9.

Any ideas?

The 2 test pages are:
echo text = http://reets.homelinux.org:8888/1.php
phpinfo() = http://reets.homelinux.org:8888/2.php
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
TRUSTAbyss
-


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 3714
Location: USA, GA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2012 2:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like the problem has been fixed. I just accessed both pages and they loaded rather quickly.
_________________
Computer Programmer & Networking Specialist

Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
reets
-


Joined: 08 Apr 2005
Posts: 13
Location: NB, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2012 2:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It was already installed. I reinstalled it anyways, restarted the server and same issue.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
TRUSTAbyss
-


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 3714
Location: USA, GA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2012 2:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tried accessing your site pages through a proxy website? The problem seems to be a network related issue since I do not notice the lag.
Try www.the-cloak.com
_________________
Computer Programmer & Networking Specialist

Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
reets
-


Joined: 08 Apr 2005
Posts: 13
Location: NB, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2012 2:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Interesting. Changed my cell phone to 3G and it can browse to 2.php just fine. So it only doesn't work when I try to go to the page locally (either using LAN ip or public domain I listed).

So, any ideas why that would be happening? :P
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
TRUSTAbyss
-


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 3714
Location: USA, GA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2012 3:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The router on your home network might not support loopback. That means you cannot access your public site from the same network. The easiest way to test for this is to access your site using the public IP Address issued from your ISP. Get your IP Address from www.ipchicken.com and access your site using http://your-ip:port. If you cannot access the site, loopback connections are not supported.
_________________
Computer Programmer & Networking Specialist

Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
reets
-


Joined: 08 Apr 2005
Posts: 13
Location: NB, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2012 3:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The link for 1.php works fine, I see the text. The 2.php doesn't work using either my public ip or the domain links I posted in OP.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
TRUSTAbyss
-


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 3714
Location: USA, GA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2012 1:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tested it in another browser? Maybe it's caching something.
_________________
Computer Programmer & Networking Specialist

Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
reets
-


Joined: 08 Apr 2005
Posts: 13
Location: NB, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2012 1:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chrome beta, Firefox 14, and IE 9.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
TRUSTAbyss
-


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 3714
Location: USA, GA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2012 2:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have any type of security software installed that might be blocking PHP? Also, make sure that you have Microsoft C++ Runtime installed.
_________________
Computer Programmer & Networking Specialist

Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
reets
-


Joined: 08 Apr 2005
Posts: 13
Location: NB, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2012 3:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MSE and Windows Firewall, that's it for running security. I have already reinstalled C++ Runtime also the other day.

Any kind of logs I can check or logging I can enable to allow me to check for any PHP diagnostics?
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Axis
-


Joined: 29 Sep 2003
Posts: 336

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2012 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to chime in here, I get first link in about 2 sec. and 2nd link in less than one. So everyone but you is getting your page. That sucks, I know. All week I have been dealing with software issues (not abyss or php related) and it can make you want to pull your hair out.

Sounds like some kind of router problem???

Regards,
Axis
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
anybody
-


Joined: 17 Mar 2008
Posts: 90

PostPosted: Fri Aug 03, 2012 8:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How to fix your problem.

Go to and open this file with notepad.
Code:
C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts


It should look something like this.
Code:
# Copyright (c) 1993-2009 Microsoft Corp.
#
# This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
#
# This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
# entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
# be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
# The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
# space.
#
# Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
# lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
#
# For example:
#
#      102.54.94.97     rhino.acme.com          # source server
#       38.25.63.10     x.acme.com              # x client host

# localhost name resolution is handled within DNS itself.
#   127.0.0.1       localhost
#   ::1             localhost


At the bottom of this file add this line. You will have to modify this line.
Code:
   192.168.1.100   reets.homelinux.org
The IP address is the IP address of your web server. Do this on all of your computers.

This is a forced local mapping of the any domain or computer name. I use this on all of my computers for my local network so windows is never confused on what software I'm using that requires access to other computers and the folders I'm sharing. I also use this on my developer machine for mapping domain names locally for whatever website I'm modifying or building.

Let me give you an example.
Code:
# localhost name resolution is handled within DNS itself.
#   127.0.0.1   localhost
#   ::1      localhost

# My Router IP address made simple
   192.168.1.1   router

# VirtualBox Host
   192.168.1.99   host      # Ubuntu (VirtualBox Host)(headless)
   192.168.1.99   vbox      # phpVirtualBox

# Abyss, hMailServer, and MySQL running on Windows 7 (headless) under VirtualBox
   192.168.1.100   server      # Abyss
   192.168.1.100   admintools


# All other computers.
   192.168.1.200   FreeNAS      # (headless)
   192.168.1.201   Office
   192.168.1.202   Notebook
   192.168.1.203   Lorinda
   192.168.1.204   Kitcken


Last edited by anybody on Sat Sep 29, 2012 2:45 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> PHP All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB phpBB Group