new to this

View previous topic :: View next topic  
switchblade
-

PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2003 10:19 pm    Post subject: new to this Reply with quote

hi alll i am new to this can anyone help me please?? i have a LAN with 3 computers on it and one of them i was going to use a my web server. i have a web site with gocites.com (www.switchblade.tk) but i want to run it from my pc. can any one tell me what to do next? and can i have uploads & downloads from my pc setup ?? :lol:
Thanks
-

PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2003 6:59 pm    Post subject: Re: new to this Reply with quote

switchblade wrote:
hi alll i am new to this can anyone help me please?? i have a LAN with 3 computers on it and one of them i was going to use a my web server. i have a web site with gocites.com (www.switchblade.tk) but i want to run it from my pc. can any one tell me what to do next? and can i have uploads & downloads from my pc setup ?? :lol:
Thanks

You can use your own PC to setup a webhost. Have you read the instruction on how to setup? It should be pretty straight forward compare to other wehserver?

What type of connection connection do you have? DSL/Dial-Up/Satelite/ISDN/Cable? Do you have Static IP or Dynamic IP? What type or kind of network do you have setup at home? Do you have a Router / Gateway? Do you also have anything that resemble network filter? Do your ISP allow you to host any type of server on your residential account?
-

PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2003 10:00 pm    Post subject: hi and thanks for geting back to me Reply with quote

for the first ? i have cable modem 1mb connection, going to my pc IE the main pc and i have internet connection shering on for all the rest of the pc going through a hub not a router i can't get it to work on a router thats y i went back to useing a hub. and i think its a static IP but my pc is on 24/7
and i dont know if my ip server IE (ntlworld) will let me host a server