Can Abyss host more than one website?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> General Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Diablomax
-


Joined: 16 Dec 2002
Posts: 12
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Dec 18, 2002 12:49 am    Post subject: Can Abyss host more than one website? Reply with quote

Can Abyss host more than one website?

I mean how about if you have two, three or more domain names?
Can I use Abyss to host websites for as many domain names as I want? Is there a limit? And how should I go about that?
I want to be able to host more than one website, because I have more than one website to host.

One more thing... is there support for MySQL?


Thank You!
_________________
Diablomax
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
anonymous reader
Guest





PostPosted: Wed Dec 18, 2002 4:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well it's not in the program, each computer have one ip and only one but you can for example register 255.255.255.255/site1/ as one adress and 255.255.255.255/site2/ as another
Back to top
Diablomax
-


Joined: 16 Dec 2002
Posts: 12
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Dec 18, 2002 4:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanx for the reply reader!!

Can you expand a bit on that I don't really understand exactly what you mean by "255.255.255.255/site1" and "255.255.255.255/site2".

What is "site1" and "site2"? are these "site1" and "site2" folders or what are they?

THANK YOU!
_________________
Diablomax
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
aprelium
-


Joined: 22 Mar 2002
Posts: 6800

PostPosted: Wed Dec 18, 2002 12:18 pm    Post subject: Re: Can Abyss host more than one website? Reply with quote

Diablomax wrote:
Can Abyss host more than one website?

I mean how about if you have two, three or more domain names?
Can I use Abyss to host websites for as many domain names as I want? Is there a limit? And how should I go about that?
I want to be able to host more than one website, because I have more than one website to host.

The current release is designed to host only one domain. In the future
releases, there will be specific versions made for hosting multiple domains
on the same server with only one IP.
Anyway, some users of the current Abyss Web Server suggested a workaround
that works with domain registrars that provide URL redirection. Please
read the posts in our forum at
http://www.aprelium.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=145 . This method is not
supported by us, but can solve you problem temporarily until a multiple
hosting version is launched.

Quote:

One more thing... is there support for MySQL?

Abyss Web Server has nothing to do directly with MySQL. Instead, scripting
languages has a direct relation with that database server. So you'll have to
install MySQL on your own. Then your scripts must be correctly configured to
talk to and receive results from the database server. This configuration is
different from script to script. There is no general rule. You should read
the documentation that comes with the script to know how to do so. If there
is no documentation, edit the script and read the comments out there. Some scripts require changing their source code in order to work correctlty.
_________________
Support Team
Aprelium - http://www.aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Diablomax
-


Joined: 16 Dec 2002
Posts: 12
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2002 2:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanx guys!
_________________
Diablomax
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
feamsr00
-


Joined: 04 Jun 2002
Posts: 138
Location: Phila PA

PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2002 3:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
<?
if (isset($HTTP_HOST) && strpos($HTTP_HOST,'.myhost.hoster.tld')>0 && strpos($HTTP_HOST,'www.myhost.hoster.tld')===false )
{
   // extract vhost, again put your regexp here ;)
   $vhost = substr($HTTP_HOST,0,strpos($HTTP_HOST,'.'));
   // redirect where ever you want... you could also look for an id with username=$vhost in a database,
   // and redirect to something like /index.php?show_user=$id
   header('Location: http://myhost.hoster.tld/'.$vhost.'/');
   exit;
}
?>


This allows you to have a domain name a if someone types mail.mysite.dynu.net they will be redirected to mysite.dynu.net/mail unless they type www.mysite.dynu.net (wildcards in DNS names (Address records) must be enabled, else they wont resolve.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number
Diablomax
-


Joined: 16 Dec 2002
Posts: 12
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2002 3:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello Feamsr!

Well that piece of code you put in there is PHP, and myself I'm not familiar with that, unfortunatelly. I'm just trying now to look into it when I have a bit of time.
Is there any HTML or Java Script code that would do the same thing? or is there another way to do it?

Thank You!
_________________
Diablomax
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB phpBB Group