View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Z.K. -
Joined: 29 Apr 2009 Posts: 9
|
Posted: Fri May 01, 2009 3:52 am Post subject: learning ASP.NET |
|
|
I am new to ASP.NET, but I set up my web server on Windows 2000 and it seems to work including the ASP.NET folder configurations. I created a sample file as below and placed in a sub directory \ASP.NET\1.1\ in my htdocs directory and try to access it by typing http://computername/ASP.NET/1.1 in the address bar of my browser, but all I get is the filename listing and if I click on it the browser tries to download it. I am just wondering what I am doing wrong.
I decided to use IE6 instead of Firefox and this time when I click on the file it almost works, it just does not display the date as it should. Will Firefox not work with ASP.NET then? I am almost sure I have gone to web pages that have aspx extensions.
code:
<%@ Page language="C#" %>
<html>
<head>
<title>Testing ASP.NET and C# on my first ASP.NET web page</title>
</head>
<body>
<h2>Testing ASP.NET and C# on my first ASP.NET web page</h2>
Today's Date:
<%=DateTime.Now.ToString()%>
</body>
</html> _________________ Z.K. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Z.K. -
Joined: 29 Apr 2009 Posts: 9
|
Posted: Sun May 03, 2009 10:02 am Post subject: found solution |
|
|
Well, this is an answer to my own question, but if this can help someone else than I am glad to help.
I just discovered that the Abyss Web Server does not like periods in the directory names as in /test/1.1 or whatever. This was why my simple little asp.net web page was not working. I renamed those directories and now everything works just great. Now, I can get on with learning ASP.NET. _________________ Z.K. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sharon100 -
Joined: 01 May 2009 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Thu May 14, 2009 11:25 am Post subject: re |
|
|
Thanks for sharing........ |
|
Back to top |
|
|
chromebuster -
Joined: 02 Jan 2010 Posts: 32 Location: boston, USA
|
Posted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 10:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks a lot. I'll fix my directory name too. I have an ASP.net subdirectory in there, and maybe that makes my error happen with firefox. it always tells me that it can't find the server. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|