localhost does not work

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> General Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jscjso
-


Joined: 27 May 2008
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 4:32 am    Post subject: localhost does not work Reply with quote

I switched the Abyss port from 80 to 8000 because my ISP blocks port 80. After switching to port 8000, localhost quits working.

I found Appendix H in Abyss user guide talks briefly about a fix. But there is no detail and I searched HTTP proxy in my IE in my Vista OS. Looks like I do not have a HTTP proxy setup.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
rrinc
-


Joined: 24 Feb 2006
Posts: 725
Location: Arkansas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 6:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Remember, when you change the port from the default you'll have to append the port to your domain.
website.com:8000, localhost:8000, 127.0.0.1:8000, 192.168.1.2:8000, etc.
_________________
-Blake | New Server :D
SaveTheInternet
Soy hispanohablante. Puedes contactarme por mensajes privados.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
jscjso
-


Joined: 27 May 2008
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 12:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Some work, some don't. Your idea is a huge break for me. I was doing try and error for a few days.

Why mydomain.com:8000 and www.mydomain.com:8000 do not work?

Only http://mydomain.com:8000 and http://www.mydomain.com:8000 work.

Anyway to make the other two working? I am thinking somewhere in cname setting, can it?
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
acecombat
-


Joined: 29 Sep 2005
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Call up your ISP, most can unblock the ports on request. Port 80 cannot be blocked because normal web traffic uses port 80. If your ISP blocked you sending data on port 80 you would never be able to submit a form, login to a page, upload an image etc.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
jscjso
-


Joined: 27 May 2008
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ACEcombat,

Thanks for your suggestion. I called my Verizon Fios, they said they cannot unblock port 80 with my current account. I have to pay $80 more a month to have an account with unblocked port 80. I am paying $50/m already, I think it is too much.

Does anyone know an ISP that does not block port 80? I definite will consider switching ISP.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
rrinc
-


Joined: 24 Feb 2006
Posts: 725
Location: Arkansas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My AT&T DSL doesn't block it. If your area can get it, try Speakeasy DSL.

Acecombat is incorrect...you don't need port 80 unblocked to browse the internet or submit forms. The client in a HTTP connection can use any number of ports.
_________________
-Blake | New Server :D
SaveTheInternet
Soy hispanohablante. Puedes contactarme por mensajes privados.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Manacit
-


Joined: 06 May 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 6:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

acecombat wrote:
Call up your ISP, most can unblock the ports on request. Port 80 cannot be blocked because normal web traffic uses port 80. If your ISP blocked you sending data on port 80 you would never be able to submit a form, login to a page, upload an image etc.


There's two different kinds of blocking, blocking incoming connections on port 80, and outgoing.
your ISP is probably blocking INCOMING connections on port 80 because they don't want you running a web server, however they have no problems with you connecting to other people on port 80.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
jscjso
-


Joined: 27 May 2008
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 4:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks everyone to help.

After trying out and verifying with other tools, I understand it now.

I would like to share my result with everyone reading this.

My solution could be:

-pay $80 more per month to Fios ISP to open the incoming port 80, this is not my choice because I am not in big business. The benefit also gives me a static IP.
-pay $40-70 per year(yes year not month) for a thirty party to reroute my domain. E.g. pointing my external IP to a third party external IP from the Name servers. Then this third party redirect the browsing to my port other than 80(e.g.88). For anyone to browse mydomain.com, they do not need to append :88 that is not convinient. This third party also provide a pseudo static IP for me.
-or use port 443 only. That is not convinient for visitor neither because they have to type https://mydomain.com. The default is http://mydomain.com that will not find my website. For cheapest way, do a self-certificate(free). To do a CA, it cost a bunch. It is from $60-$1000.
This third solution does not solve the dynamic IP.

Hope this help people who is one step behind me.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
AbyssUnderground
-


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 3855

PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could just change ISP to another that doesn't block the port. There are lots out there that don't, you just have to find which ones.
_________________
Andy (AbyssUnderground) (previously The Inquisitor)
www.abyssunderground.co.uk
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pkSML
-


Joined: 29 May 2006
Posts: 908
Location: Michigan, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2008 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In my opinion, your easiest option would be to make a framed domain. This is the free option. It may be called masking or cloaking your domain. To do it, you need to login to your registrar's website. Search around for masking or cloaking.
_________________
Stephen
Need a LitlURL?


http://CodeBin.yi.org
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pkSML
-


Joined: 29 May 2006
Posts: 908
Location: Michigan, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2008 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jscjso wrote:
Some work, some don't. Your idea is a huge break for me. I was doing try and error for a few days.

Why mydomain.com:8000 and www.mydomain.com:8000 do not work?

Only http://mydomain.com:8000 and http://www.mydomain.com:8000 work.

Anyway to make the other two working? I am thinking somewhere in cname setting, can it?


This is a syntax issue with IE. It doesn't like URLs that look like this. It's not a problem with your server. With any alternative port, IE requires you to put http:// on the front of it.
_________________
Stephen
Need a LitlURL?


http://CodeBin.yi.org
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
senshi
-


Joined: 05 Nov 2003
Posts: 385
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2008 11:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If your paying $50 a month then your ISP is charging you allot.

You can buy web hosting space for less than that for a whole year, so who are they kidding that it will cost an extra $80.

I paid £79 for a two year package that throws enough bandwidth and resources and traffic that means you never get bills for going over limit.

I am not sure of the exchange rates at present but that puts that price in the $150 bracket for 2 whole years.

I know you can get cheaper hosting than that, I am pointing out that you can for a large part do your site development on a local PC with Abyss, PHP and MySQL and when its ready for deployment, upload to your web space. No port blocking or issues with ISP's.

Some US hosts start hosting plans from as little as $0.49 per day.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB phpBB Group