Any way to run MySQL 4 and 5 at the same time?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> Databases
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
internut
-


Joined: 02 Jun 2008
Posts: 4
Location: Baltimore

PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2008 2:51 am    Post subject: Any way to run MySQL 4 and 5 at the same time? Reply with quote

Possible?
Back to top View user's profile Send private message ICQ Number
Moxxnixx
-


Joined: 21 Jun 2003
Posts: 1226
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2008 3:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, it's possible.
I've never tried it myself, but MySQL has instructions on how to do it...
Running Multiple MySQL Servers on the Same Machine
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
internut
-


Joined: 02 Jun 2008
Posts: 4
Location: Baltimore

PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2008 9:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the link & info.

Seems there is a lot involved getting it done. ugh.

Wonder if I should just use version 5 from the start and not try and run 4 & 5 together.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message ICQ Number
admin
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Mar 2002
Posts: 772

PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

internut wrote:
Thanks for the link & info.

Seems there is a lot involved getting it done. ugh.

Wonder if I should just use version 5 from the start and not try and run 4 & 5 together.


If you are installing a new system, it's better to use MySQL 5. MySQL 5 is backward compatible with MySQL 4 (except in some specific areas only experts care about), so there is no real need for MySQL 4 if you have version 5.
_________________
Forum Administrator
Aprelium - http://www.aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
internut
-


Joined: 02 Jun 2008
Posts: 4
Location: Baltimore

PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good call. Just going to go with 5. Thanks!

Though on tinyint in version 5 you have to assign it a value. Can not be blank anymore.

Which throws a lot of checkbox options off that look to set a "1" for true and nothing for false.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message ICQ Number
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> Databases All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB phpBB Group