Google Sitemap

View previous topic :: View next topic  
svankamon
-

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2008 9:30 am    Post subject: Google Sitemap Reply with quote

Hi, ive installed Python 2.5 and can run it from the command line. I also have sitemap_gen 1.4. Ive also created a config.xml listing all the directories within my site.

However i cannot/rather dont know how to rung the script. Ive tried the google instruction loads of times but always a syntax error occurs with arrow pointing to:
: n and others.

I have copied the sitemap_gen.py to my web doc root, which is on an external drive. L. Python is on my sytem C drive.

Can anyone give me a clue as to how to get this thing done. Im no programmer so if you post a reply please give full instructions. Thank you
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Moxxnixx
-

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2008 10:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi svankamon,
Have you followed the instructions at...
https://www.google.com/webmasters/tools/docs/en/sitemap-generator.html
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
svankamon
-

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2008 1:54 pm    Post subject: Sitemap Instructions Reply with quote

Yes, i followed as best i could and did a large Directory listing as stated. This is called config.xml in my root directory. Sitemap_gen is also in the same directory.

Ive tried various combinations of paths in the command line to try and run the script but it just comes up as syntax error. ie im not getting the path right.

In step 4 of the page you inserted and enquirred about ive tried those combinations of commands and others. But cant get it to do anything.

Im not too gre4at with the command line and below are a few of my thinking process errors.

1. Does it mean comand line as in ms dos command prompt.
Or does it mean python command line.?