Configuriong Web Server

View previous topic :: View next topic  
noman_quraishi
-

PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 1:55 am    Post subject: Configuriong Web Server Reply with quote

HI i have made a cool server by Abyss x2 ... All my network guys can access it by http://172.16.0.168:8001 whr 172.16.0.168 is my local ip & 8001 is the port .. Now i wanna make this accessible on internet too .. I have reg. a free host name http://nomi.ath.cx & they auto detect my ip that is 221.132.113.236 ... I got their updater too .. BUt the prob is that first i cant see http://nomi.ath.cx & when i ask my friend to chk it for me i came to know that this is the site of our ISP not mine..

Now what i want is that to resolve nomi.ath.cx to my local server that is http://172.16.0.168:8001 is it possible? .. I am a newbie for ports & routers ....
iNaNimAtE wrote:
2) Go to your router configuration. Usually, you can type "192.168.1.1" or "192.168.0.1" in your browser to bring it up.
Helpful tip: After completing step 1, use the same digit(s) in the third block of your IP in step 2. Example: If your IP address from step 1 was "192.168.254.10," then use 254 to find your router (192.168.254.254). If your IP address was "192.168.1.10," then use "192.168.1.1" (taking the third block of numbers in your IP address, and putting them in the third and fourth place in step 2).

3) If a password prompt comes up, try different combinations of the words "admin" and "administrator." Most linksys routers use "admin" for the password and no username.

4) Once in the configuration, look for an option that says "forwarding." Once you have found it, under port number, type "80." Under IP address, type the IP address you found in step 1 (192.168.x.x). For TCP/UDP, make sure at least TCP is selected.

5) Go to www.whatismyip.com or www.aprelium.com/ip/ to find your External IP address. After configuring port forwarding, type that IP address into your browser. Your website should show up!