Images aren't showing up for site users

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> Networking Issues
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
BMN
-


Joined: 16 Jun 2005
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2007 8:21 pm    Post subject: Images aren't showing up for site users Reply with quote

I finally got my server up and running (X1), and people can connect and view pages. However, most of them seem to say that images aren't showing up. When they link directly to the image they can see it, but upon refreshing pages that use the image, it's gone.

I've installed PHP (5.2.3), MySQL (4.1.22), and PHPMyAdmin (2.10.1). I've installed a test board (MyBB 1.2.7) which can be found here: http://170.215.17.168/forum/

I can also provide additional pages with HTML and images embedded if needed.

What might be causing this? Many thanks in advance. :)
________
Mazda Familia picture


Last edited by BMN on Fri Feb 04, 2011 5:37 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
TRUSTAbyss
-


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 3714
Location: USA, GA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2007 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you view the source code, all images, css, and javascript point to http://127.0.0.1. You need to fix the URL.
_________________
Computer Programmer & Networking Specialist

Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
BMN
-


Joined: 16 Jun 2005
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2007 9:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ahh, that was a stupid mistake!

I reinstalled the board with the correct IP, but now I'm worried that when my IP (dynamic) changes, the images won't work anymore. Also, now when I go to view the site locally, I don't see the images.

Is there any kind of workaround for this? Should I try using some different board software that uses images through a relative path?

EDIT: Also, would using a free no-ip account help me with the dynamic IP?
________
Aprilia RS125


Last edited by BMN on Fri Feb 04, 2011 5:37 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
marc2003
-


Joined: 04 Feb 2004
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2007 10:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BMN wrote:
EDIT: Also, would using a free no-ip account help me with the dynamic IP?


yup, i use a simliar service (dyndns) and it works great. :)
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
TRUSTAbyss
-


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 3714
Location: USA, GA

PostPosted: Fri Jun 08, 2007 2:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I recommend getting a Free sub domain or to purchase one for $8.95/yr with GoDaddy.com

This will fix the problem
_________________
Computer Programmer & Networking Specialist

Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
BMN
-


Joined: 16 Jun 2005
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Fri Jun 08, 2007 7:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Where might I go about getting a few sub-domain? Is that something like .co.nr or is it completely different?

I recently noticed someone typing in their URL from the computer used for hosting as http://localhost/www/*website*/directory/file.xxx. Is something like that possible without paying for a domain? It seems to be the way to go for viewing your site correctly from the inside of the server/IP.

Thanks again for all your help, I really appreciate it.
________
List of motorcycles


Last edited by BMN on Fri Feb 04, 2011 5:37 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
TRUSTAbyss
-


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 3714
Location: USA, GA

PostPosted: Fri Jun 08, 2007 7:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's a list of a few Free sub domain providers. Probably the best of them all.

http://no-ip.com (Allows up to 5 addresses)
http://www.dyndns.com (A pretty nice one too)
http://freedns.afraid.org (A huge list of sub domains)

Hope this information helps.
_________________
Computer Programmer & Networking Specialist



Last edited by TRUSTAbyss on Fri Jun 08, 2007 5:49 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
BMN
-


Joined: 16 Jun 2005
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did manage to get the boards working correctly by using "/forum/" instead of a concrete address. I do have a no-ip account and it seems to be working good.

Thanks for you help, I think that's it! :D
________
700


Last edited by BMN on Fri Feb 04, 2011 5:38 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
TRUSTAbyss
-


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 3714
Location: USA, GA

PostPosted: Fri Jun 08, 2007 5:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your welcome. If you don't mind, can I add your website to the Powered By Abyss database? I would need to know the no-ip address.

http://pba.trustabyss.com
_________________
Computer Programmer & Networking Specialist

Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
g_11690102
-


Joined: 07 Jun 2007
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2007 5:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you don't know about the host file on your pc. i just recently found out if you tell it that http://www.myweb.com is actualy a local pc at http://192.168.1.2 then it will go there not a router. just click on start then search for "HOSTS" open with notepad and make the changes pretty easy. add your website after the line "127.0.0.1 localhost" aka "192.168.1.2 www.myweb.com"
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
BMN
-


Joined: 16 Jun 2005
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2007 10:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Where exactly is the file located? I did a search for HOSTS and all I got was the Abyss documentation. It would be great if I could get that to work though.

And TRUSTAbyss, right now I'm just using the server to host some files and test scripts, nothing special yet.
________
growing marijuana


Last edited by BMN on Fri Feb 04, 2011 5:38 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Moxxnixx
-


Joined: 21 Jun 2003
Posts: 1226
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2007 11:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BMN wrote:
Where exactly is the file located? I did a search for HOSTS and all I got was the Abyss documentation. It would be great if I could get that to work though.

If you have Windows XP you'll find the hosts file in C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> Networking Issues All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB phpBB Group