Abyss Webserver name/version in PHP

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> Tutorials
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rrinc
-


Joined: 24 Feb 2006
Posts: 725
Location: Arkansas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 2:30 am    Post subject: Abyss Webserver name/version in PHP Reply with quote

Lets say you need or want to display the version number of Abyss. This is actually very easy to do. The basic idea is to get $_SERVER['SERVER_SOFTWARE'] and format it. There's a few ways you can format it to look good and/or be useful.

First of all, this is what $_SERVER['SERVER_SOFTWARE'] looks like on Abyss Webserver X1 v2.4.0.3:
Code:
Abyss/2.4.0.3-X1-Win32 AbyssLib/2.4.0.3

That's long and not very useful in that form, we can separate stuff out of it and just grab parts of it.


One thing we can do is use substr() and cut off everything but the first 13 characters, which we would do with the following PHP code:
Code:
echo substr($_SERVER['SERVER_SOFTWARE'], 0, 13);

That would produce:
Code:
Abyss/2.4.0.3


We could take that even farther and do something like this:
Code:
echo str_replace('/' ,' Web Server ' , substr($_SERVER['SERVER_SOFTWARE'], 0, 13));
Which would produce:
Code:
Abyss Web Server 2.4.0.3
What we just did was cut the variable down to 13 characters then replaced the "/" with " Web Server ". We could stick the words "Powered by" in front of that and make a nice footer for your website.

If you just need the version number, that can be achieved with this code:
Code:
echo str_replace('Abyss/' ,'' , substr($_SERVER['SERVER_SOFTWARE'], 0, 13));
In that code, we're just replacing "Abyss/" with nothing, which produces:
Code:
2.4.0.3


There's my little tutorial. Just ask if you need help or an explanation.

Its possible that this code could stop working correctly if Aprelium gives Abyss longer version numbers.
_________________
-Blake | New Server :D
SaveTheInternet
Soy hispanohablante. Puedes contactarme por mensajes privados.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
loloyd
-


Joined: 03 Mar 2006
Posts: 435
Location: Philippines

PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 3:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The reliability of this route may break down if Abyss has various ways and means of writing its version number across different versions. To wit:

1. 2.4.0.3
2. 2.4
3. 2.3.2

As you can see, using a fixed index position for substr may not be of use to those with different versions.

If you look at the resultant string closely, you will find that Abyss uses delimiters for describing its software version.

Code:
Abyss/<version>-<package>-<OS platform><white space>AbyssLib/<library version>


It would be a good idea to work with these delimiters instead in order to get to the version you are looking for. So you have to "explode" the string into an array delimited first by whitespace. Then "explode" the resultant array[0] by "/". Then "explode" the next resultant array[1] by "-". Then grab the last resultant array[0] - which will be the Abyss version number no matter what its length is.

Parsing strings is a personal area of interest of mine :-D.
_________________

http://home.loloyd.com/ is online if the logo graphic at left is showing.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
TRUSTAbyss
-


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 3752
Location: USA, GA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 12:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should use a Regular Expression for that. I created a rather simple function using a Regex to capture each part of the Server header string. Enjoy!
Aprelium showed me how to do this a while back.

Code:
<pre>
<?php
/**
 * Function: (Array) get_abyss_info()
 * Created by: Josh (TRUSTAbyss)
 *
 * Provided by: trustabyss.com
 */
     
function get_abyss_info($string)
{
    $array = array();
   
    if (preg_match("/^Abyss\/(.+)-(.+)-(.+)\sAbyssLib\/(.+)$/", $string, $match))
    {
        $array["version"] = $match[1];
        $array["type"] = $match[2];
        $array["os"] = $match[3];
        $array["libversion"] = $match[4];
   
        return $array;
    } 
    else
    {
        return false;
    }
}

// We use the print_r function to show the structure of the array.
print_r(get_abyss_info($_SERVER["SERVER_SOFTWARE"]));
?>
</pre>
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
JMMotyer
-


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 60
Location: Burlington (Toronto-ish), Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Mar 24, 2023 5:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello, folks, I realize that this thread is 16 years old, but...

When I use the code above from TRUSTAbyss, what is produced is:

Quote:
Array ( [version] => 2.16.4 [type] => X2 [os] => Win32 [libversion] => 2.16.4 )

How can I change the code slightly, in order to be able to have a variable for the [version] number, and another variable for the [os]?

I wish to be able to use something like this on my site:

Code:
echo $abyss_version['version']
echo $abyss_version['os']

Thank you in advance.

Regards,
John
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
admin
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Mar 2002
Posts: 1295

PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2023 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JMMotyer wrote:


Code:


/* Paste get_abyss_info() function definition here */

$abyss_version = get_abyss_info($_SERVER["SERVER_SOFTWARE"]);

echo $abyss_version['version'];
echo $abyss_version['os'];

_________________
Follow @abyssws on Twitter
Subscribe to our newsletter
_________________
Forum Administrator
Aprelium - https://aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
JMMotyer
-


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 60
Location: Burlington (Toronto-ish), Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2023 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That works perfectly. Thank you, folks, for your support & solution.

Regards,
John
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DyktaT
-


Joined: 08 Aug 2023
Posts: 1
Location: Warsaw

PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2023 4:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

admin wrote:
JMMotyer wrote:


Code:


/* Paste get_abyss_info() function definition here */

$abyss_version = get_abyss_info($_SERVER["SERVER_SOFTWARE"]);

echo $abyss_version['version'];
echo $abyss_version['os'];


Hi,
I just registered in I have also a small problem, the problem is that somehow it doesn't show correct version, how it is possible?
_________________
Proud Head Redactor of sprytne.pl.
Father of a 2 children.
Interested in Technology, Finances and good musics.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
admin
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Mar 2002
Posts: 1295

PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2023 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DyktaT wrote:
I just registered in I have also a small problem, the problem is that somehow it doesn't show correct version, how it is possible?


What does it show instead of the full version? What is the exact code you're using?
_________________
Follow @abyssws on Twitter
Subscribe to our newsletter
_________________
Forum Administrator
Aprelium - https://aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> Tutorials All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB phpBB Group