GeoLocation Lookup Application

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> Off Topic Discussions
View previous topic :: View next topic  

Useful?
Yes
100%
 100%  [ 1 ]
No
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Total Votes : 1

Author Message
richardyork
-


Joined: 22 Jun 2004
Posts: 402
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2021 11:44 am    Post subject: GeoLocation Lookup Application Reply with quote

Aprelium - I hope you don't mind me posting the following...

Hi Guys,

It's been a while!

I'm always checking for updates on the forum, feels like I have been on here for an eternity as it's the only forum I check on a regular basis!

Anyway, I have recently started a new job as an Infrastructure Engineer, mainly implementing and installing WatchGuard firewall devices (amongst other things). Our mindset once installed is to completely lockdown all traffic apart from allowing business essential traffic for the client.

If you are not aware, as part WatchGuard System Manager there is a Traffic Monitor component. Once installed and "locked down" I spend some time monitoring traffic coming in and out, searching websites to see the endpoint and creating rules on the firewall on a case by case scenario.

Some of this work involves checking IP Address Locations etc, no offense but we tend to block anything from Russia, North Korea and China; only allowing certain IP addresses absolutely required in these areas (we are UK based).

I got fed up, for want of a better phrase with having to go to websites in order to lookup IP addresses so created this application.

It allows me to have the WatchGuard Traffic Monitor open while easily checking IP addresses.

My aim is to have a bit of feedback from anyone willing to try it out if possible please?

No installation required, source code available on request. VB.NET project.

Download Link at bottom of post

Thanks in advance!




Download URL: https://www.dropbox.com/s/mr9o7wabu8si9p8/RY%20IP%20Geolocation%20Lookup.zip?dl=0
_________________
Please SEARCH the forums BEFORE asking questions!
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pkSML
-


Joined: 29 May 2006
Posts: 933
Location: Michigan, USA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2021 12:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice work! Definitely handy to have. Every server gets spammed and it's nice to know where it's coming from (Yes, Russia, I mean you... lol)

Perhaps you could add a checkbox that, when enabled, would automatically fill in the address to query when there's a valid hostname or IP address in the clipboard and the program receives focus. This would save the hassle of pasting the address in the box.

Perhaps it could then also perform the query, nearly completely automating the program.
_________________
Stephen
Need a LitlURL?


http://CodeBin.yi.org
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
richardyork
-


Joined: 22 Jun 2004
Posts: 402
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2021 7:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pkSML,

I really appreciate your feedback and I'm working on your suggestion :)



Original checkbox name I know.... haha

Will keep you posted!
_________________
Please SEARCH the forums BEFORE asking questions!
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
admin
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Mar 2002
Posts: 1177

PostPosted: Tue Nov 02, 2021 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

richardyork,

Thank you for sharing this with us.

Out of curiosity, what API or database are you using to get the location of an IP?
_________________
Follow @abyssws on Twitter
Subscribe to our newsletter
_________________
Forum Administrator
Aprelium - https://aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
richardyork
-


Joined: 22 Jun 2004
Posts: 402
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Nov 11, 2021 12:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Aprelium :) I hope you are all well!

I'm using http://ip-api.com - JSON data at the moment.

Development has halted as my Visual Studio Project seems to have corrupted and I have no backups (schoolboy error I know) So if anyone has Visual Studio experience and fancies trying to sort it out with me or help that would be great.

I basically saved the project and then built it after making small modifications and now the core logic/code is fine but all of my controls, textboxes and buttons have vanished from form designer!
_________________
Please SEARCH the forums BEFORE asking questions!
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
admin
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Mar 2002
Posts: 1177

PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2021 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

richardyork wrote:
Thanks Aprelium :) I hope you are all well!

I'm using http://ip-api.com - JSON data at the moment.


Thank you for the pointer. We'll add it to our interesing API endpoints list.
_________________
Follow @abyssws on Twitter
Subscribe to our newsletter
_________________
Forum Administrator
Aprelium - https://aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> Off Topic Discussions All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB phpBB Group