Running another server behind Abyss

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> General Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Core
-


Joined: 20 Sep 2009
Posts: 3
Location: New York

PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2009 4:00 am    Post subject: Running another server behind Abyss Reply with quote

Hello folks,

Just purchased Abyss and have to say the installation was very easy. Server up and running in no time at all.

Being new at this I am having one issue that I am not sure how to tackle.
Basically I would like to run another server behind Abyss. This other server software is called RunBasic.

I have Abyss setup on port 80 and the RunBasic server set up to listen on port 8080. Others are running RunBasic behind Apache with the following example code:

Code:

<VirtualHost *:80>

ServerAdmin webmaster@test.com
DocumentRoot C:/rbp/public
ServerName www.test.com
ErrorLog logs/test.com-error_log
CustomLog logs/test.com-access_log common

<IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
RewriteEngine on
ProxyVia Block
ProxyPreserveHost On
RewriteCond C:/rbp101/public/%{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteRule ^/(.*)$ http://localhost:8080/seaside/go/runbasic/$1 [P,L]
</IfModule>

</VirtualHost>




I have no problem accessing my server at http://hvacore.net

I would like to access my RunBasic server through Abyss with the following url hvacore.net/runbasic?app=demo

I have done some reading on the forum and the tutorials regarding RewriteRules but it appears I need a little more direction with this.


Software: Abyss X2.
Also the RunBasic files and folders will not be in the Document Root of c:\Program Files\Abyss Web Server\htdocs
Any direction would be appreciated.

Respectfully,

Core
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
aprelium
-


Joined: 22 Mar 2002
Posts: 6800

PostPosted: Thu Sep 24, 2009 7:24 pm    Post subject: Re: Running another server behind Abyss Reply with quote

Core,

The feature you are requested is called "reverse-proxy" and it will be added in the next version 2.7 which is scheduled for release by the end of 2009. If you are interested in giving its test releases a try when they become available, please contact support@aprelium.com.
_________________
Support Team
Aprelium - http://www.aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Core
-


Joined: 20 Sep 2009
Posts: 3
Location: New York

PostPosted: Thu Sep 24, 2009 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

aprelium,

After posting my topic I did additional research and realized that I would need Abyss in 'reverse-proxy' mode. Basically servers running behind a server.

It's great to hear that this feature is being added soon :) as my special needs would require this.

Thank you for the quick response and I will contact support.

Respectfully,

Core
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
JackWebb
-


Joined: 25 Sep 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 11:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Core,

Good to see you here and thanks for asking the question. I anxiously await the arrival of 2.7..

Regards,
Jack
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Core
-


Joined: 20 Sep 2009
Posts: 3
Location: New York

PostPosted: Sat Nov 14, 2009 1:32 pm    Post subject: Re: Running another server behind Abyss Reply with quote

aprelium wrote:
Core,

The feature you are requested is called "reverse-proxy" and it will be added in the next version 2.7 which is scheduled for release by the end of 2009. If you are interested in giving its test releases a try when they become available, please contact support@aprelium.com.



Is version 2.7 still on schedule for the end of this year?

Respectfully,

Core
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
JackWebb
-


Joined: 25 Sep 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 3:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anybody?

I'm using RunBASIC as well and would love this feature. In lieu of that, is there a proxying software that anyone could recommend? I've heard of these and looked at a few, but I'm not so sure that this is what I need or can use to achieve the desired result.

Thanx in advance
Jack

Abyss 2.6X2
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
kharkovyy
-


Joined: 02 Mar 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2011 10:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello i am looking to run RPAF since my server is running behind a proxy. Does anyone know how ( or where) to setup the following:

<IfModule mod_rpaf.c>
RPAFenable On
RPAFsethostname On
RPAFproxy_ips XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX
</IfModule>
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB phpBB Group