PHP.INI + MAMBO installation

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> PHP
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
razorsedge
-


Joined: 06 Jan 2007
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2007 5:44 am    Post subject: PHP.INI + MAMBO installation Reply with quote

Under the PHP.INI, I need to change the Session save path. currently right now it looked like:
Code:

"N;\path"

N would represent something i forgot but i am tryin to install mambo and it says the following:

Under MySQL Support it is unavailable and under session save path it is unwriteable. Also rite beside it in grey letters it says Not set, then in red unwritable.

How would i got about fixing this?

Please help me!!!
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Moxxnixx
-


Joined: 21 Jun 2003
Posts: 1226
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2007 6:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

razorsedge,

First create a folder called "tmp" in the root directory of where you installed PHP.
(right-click the tmp folder, go to Properties, make sure Read-only is NOT checked)
Assuming that you installed PHP in Program Files, the file location will look like this...
C:\Program Files\PHP5\tmp

Then, in the php.ini file, you should have this line...
Code:
session.save_path = "C:/Program Files/PHP5/tmp"


IMO, you should forget about Mambo and go with Joomla.
Much better support, faster updates, and better add-ons.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
razorsedge
-


Joined: 06 Jan 2007
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2007 11:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok so what about the MySQL being unavailable. and about mambo vs joomla.. i'm just checking rite now. I may write my own CMS, but not sure cuz from what i see it takes a while but yeah so i'm getting the MySQL being unavaiable how do i go about fixing this?
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
razorsedge
-


Joined: 06 Jan 2007
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 6:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NVM i'm just going to use joomla, cuz i dont want to touch the php.ini
anyways thanks for all ur help agian
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
razorsedge
-


Joined: 06 Jan 2007
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok i still have the same problem. The Session path is still not writeable... i have changed php.ini to " C:\Program Files\PHP5\tmp" and i made sure it was not checked on read only but... everytime i uncheck that and click apply then close it... somehow it rechecks it back... then i went and unchecked the entire folder... so it still says read only. Also i have Register globals on but i kno how to turn that off and then there is another one i dont kno... it is magic_quotes_gpc i seached php for this and could not find it. can someone please help me!!!!

This is an addition... I just tried turnin off the reg. glob. and it put off in it and it did not turn it off. do i need to put it in caps or somethign?
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Moxxnixx
-


Joined: 21 Jun 2003
Posts: 1226
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you make sure to end all instances of php in your Task Manager?
Changes to the php.ini don't work if php is still running.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
razorsedge
-


Joined: 06 Jan 2007
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 11:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well i restarted the computer.... but also what about the quote or something another? like i cant find that in the php.ini file what so ever
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
NuccatheWarrior
-


Joined: 18 Oct 2007
Posts: 82

PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 4:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

where you installed the php5 software, it should be in a directory. For example:
Code:
C:\php5\    or     C:\Program Files\php5\


The php.ini file should be in the php5 folder. If it is not there i suggest you use the preconfigured php5 version. from aprelium's site or go to php.net for the updated version of php. I'm using php 5.25 as of right now, for my phpnuke site. it works fine for me
_________________
Site Administrator of Nucca The Warrior's Website

http://nuccathewarrior.kicks-ass.org
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ale
-


Joined: 12 Dec 2007
Posts: 6
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

magic_quotes_gpc and register_globals are both two settings in php.ini file

if you create a file called index.php in the htdocs folder with just this line of code
Code:
<?php phpinfo(); ?>
you will see if your PHP interpreter is running fine and in the generated page you can also see a line which looks like
Code:
Loaded Configuration File    C:\Program Files\PHP\php.ini
and tells you which php.ini is being used. After changing a setting in php.ini you have to restart Abyss to make it effective. There's no need to restart the whole pc.
About Mambo versus Joomla, you can try both and see which one fits best your needs :)
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
razorsedge
-


Joined: 06 Jan 2007
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thank you all so much!!!!
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> PHP All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB phpBB Group