domain

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> Networking Issues
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
stece
-


Joined: 06 Oct 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 8:04 am    Post subject: domain Reply with quote

Dear all
I have a few questions :
1. What is com, org, net etc. Are they domains?
2. What should I do to have a domain like com, org, net etc. but having the name invented by me. Do I need a root DNS server for it ? If I have one could I create domains in it for free and give it away to others ?
3. Why are dynamic domains usually subdomains ? Is it possible to have a dynamic domain in format like this www.mydomain.com ?

Thank you in advance
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
TRUSTAbyss
-


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 3714
Location: USA, GA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 10:15 am    Post subject: Re: domain Reply with quote

Hello Stece,

Q: 1. What is com, org, net etc. Are they domains?
A: Yes, and each of them represents a certain type of domain.

COM stands for "Commercial"
ORG stands for "Organization"
NET stands for "Network"

Q: What should I do to have a domain like com, org, net etc...
A: You will need to register a domain with GoDaddy.com or use a free service like no-ip.com to point your server's IP Address to your own domain name. You cannot host your own domain addresses. I believe domains are registered into a global whois database from iCANN (Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers).

Kind regards, Josh
_________________
Computer Programmer & Networking Specialist

Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
rrinc
-


Joined: 24 Feb 2006
Posts: 725
Location: Arkansas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 11:42 pm    Post subject: Re: domain Reply with quote

stece wrote:
Dear all
I have a few questions :
1. What is com, org, net etc. Are they domains?
2. What should I do to have a domain like com, org, net etc. but having the name invented by me. Do I need a root DNS server for it ? If I have one could I create domains in it for free and give it away to others ?
3. Why are dynamic domains usually subdomains ? Is it possible to have a dynamic domain in format like this www.mydomain.com ?

Thank you in advance

A few details:
There are TLD's (top level domains), like com, net, org
There are ccTLD's (country code TLD's), such as us, co.uk

It is possible to run your own Root DNS Server, however it is pointless since no one will be using it. It could be useful for a organization's LAN or something though.
_________________
-Blake | New Server :D
SaveTheInternet
Soy hispanohablante. Puedes contactarme por mensajes privados.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
AbyssUnderground
-


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 3855

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 8:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

TLD's (Top level domains) cannot be created for public use. They have to be agreed for use by the correct authorities. Just remember, the xxx "CENSORED" only domain was rejected after over a year of talks.
_________________
Andy (AbyssUnderground) (previously The Inquisitor)
www.abyssunderground.co.uk
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
madman1337
-


Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 182
Location: Houston, TX

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 1:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I looked this up a long while ago, since I wanted to host a domain for no cost. But, the issue is, no matter what you have to pay to register the name through iCANN, so it will always cost something.

Dynamic domains are usually subdomains because subdomains are usually routed with the a records of the domain, so theoretically you can have thousands of subdomains if you pay for only one domain. otherwise, you would have to register thousands of domains with iCANN, and that would get expensive.
_________________
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
rrinc
-


Joined: 24 Feb 2006
Posts: 725
Location: Arkansas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 3:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep. I have nearly 10 subdomains of my domain pointing to my IP. ;)
_________________
-Blake | New Server :D
SaveTheInternet
Soy hispanohablante. Puedes contactarme por mensajes privados.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
stece
-


Joined: 06 Oct 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for explaination
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> Networking Issues All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB phpBB Group