Removing table size limit?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> General Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hc2995
-


Joined: 07 Aug 2006
Posts: 644
Location: Maryland, USA

PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 6:46 pm    Post subject: Removing table size limit? Reply with quote

Ok while running the phpnuke "nuke.sql" file for the database i get this error:

Code:

Error

SQL query:

#
# Volcar la base de datos para la tabla `nuke_cities`
#
INSERT INTO nuke_cities
VALUES ( 1, 1, 'As�d�b�d', 'af ', 'Afghanistan ');

MySQL said: Documentation
#1406 - Data too long for column 'city' at row 1


I am the only user and have all privledges so i dont understand why im getting this error :S If someone could help i would be greatful :D
_________________
Where have i been? School got heck-tick, had to move half way around the state, then back... and then i had to change jobs, so iv been away for a while :P
Back to top View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
aprelium
-


Joined: 22 Mar 2002
Posts: 6800

PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 3:32 pm    Post subject: Re: Removing table size limit? Reply with quote

hc2995,

What is the defintion of the table nuke_cities?
_________________
Support Team
Aprelium - http://www.aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
hc2995
-


Joined: 07 Aug 2006
Posts: 644
Location: Maryland, USA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 1:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry i didnt get back to you aprelium, phpBB didnt say there were any new posts on this topic so i thought everyone forgot about me :/ (lol) Im at school now so ill have to check when i get home :D
_________________
Where have i been? School got heck-tick, had to move half way around the state, then back... and then i had to change jobs, so iv been away for a while :P
Back to top View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Marty
-


Joined: 10 Sep 2006
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 7:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Its actuall part of a new Advertisement module that came with 7.8 the sql injection is almost 7000lines of cities.

Iam just courious myself, but are you changing the "MYSQL Charset" or Collation" type.
What are these set to at the moment ?
Iam just asking cause the error is different to the injection ?

Code:
CREATE TABLE nuke_cities (
  id mediumint(4) NOT NULL default '0',
  local_id mediumint(3) NOT NULL default '0',
  city varchar(65) NOT NULL default '',
  cc char(2) NOT NULL default '',
  country varchar(35) NOT NULL default '',
  PRIMARY KEY  (id)
) ENGINE=MyISAM;

#
# Volcar la base de datos para la tabla `nuke_cities`
#

INSERT INTO nuke_cities VALUES (1, 1, 'Asâdâbâd', 'af', 'Afghanistan');
INSERT INTO nuke_cities VALUES (2, 2, 'Âybak', 'af', 'Afghanistan');
INSERT INTO nuke_cities VALUES (3, 3, 'Baghlân', 'af', 'Afghanistan');
INSERT INTO nuke_cities VALUES (4, 4, 'Balkh', 'af', 'Afghanistan');
INSERT INTO nuke_cities VALUES (5, 5, 'Bâmîyân', 'af', 'Afghanistan');
INSERT INTO nuke_cities VALUES (6, 6, 'Chaghcharân', 'af', 'Afghanistan');
INSERT INTO nuke_cities VALUES (7, 7, 'Chârîkâr', 'af', 'Afghanistan');
INSERT INTO nuke_cities VALUES (8, 8, 'Farâh', 'af', 'Afghanistan');
INSERT INTO nuke_cities VALUES (9, 9, 'Fayzâbâd', 'af', 'Afghanistan');
INSERT INTO nuke_cities VALUES (10, 10, 'Ghardez', 'af', 'Afghanistan');

...etc....

_________________
www.web-bin.com | www.skydigitalcards.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
hc2995
-


Joined: 07 Aug 2006
Posts: 644
Location: Maryland, USA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 9:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok i just tried again on my other server, same problem :/ Here is exactly what it says:
Code:

Error

SQL query:

#
# Volcar la base de datos para la tabla `nuke_cities`
#
INSERT INTO nuke_cities
VALUES ( 1, 1, 'As�d�b�d', 'af ', 'Afghanistan ');

MySQL said: Documentation
#1406 - Data too long for column 'city' at row 1



BTW Aprelium, how do i find definitions?


My Database collation is set to UTF8_Unicode_CI (if that helps marty)
_________________
Where have i been? School got heck-tick, had to move half way around the state, then back... and then i had to change jobs, so iv been away for a while :P
Back to top View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
aprelium
-


Joined: 22 Mar 2002
Posts: 6800

PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hc2995 wrote:
My Database collation is set to UTF8_Unicode_CI (if that helps marty)


The definition has been posted by Marty. But as he said, the problem seems to be related to the charset you're using for that table.
_________________
Support Team
Aprelium - http://www.aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
hc2995
-


Joined: 07 Aug 2006
Posts: 644
Location: Maryland, USA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 9:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

aprelium wrote:
hc2995 wrote:
My Database collation is set to UTF8_Unicode_CI (if that helps marty)


The definition has been posted by Marty. But as he said, the problem seems to be related to the charset you're using for that table.



So what charset should i use? I think the person who wrote the file is spanish but im not sure (10th grade spanish only goes so far you know :P)
_________________
Where have i been? School got heck-tick, had to move half way around the state, then back... and then i had to change jobs, so iv been away for a while :P
Back to top View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
aprelium
-


Joined: 22 Mar 2002
Posts: 6800

PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2006 11:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hc2995 wrote:
So what charset should i use?


No idea. You should probably ask the question to the person/group who's developing that PhpNuke plugin.

Anyway, if he's Spanish, he's probably using ISO-8859-1 or Latin 1 or Windows 1252.
_________________
Support Team
Aprelium - http://www.aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Marty
-


Joined: 10 Sep 2006
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2006 12:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First things first open the nuke.sql for editting.

open Find/Replace all

Find : ENGINE=MyISAM
&
Replace all with :notting, iam saying exactly that notting leave the entry blank. Then hit replace all, save your file as anything you like, the name is not important its the content: nuke2.sql for example, now try and run the file as before. (delete your old nuke database first)

If your still having problems check your MYSQL Charset is set to : UTF-8 Unicode (utf8) and your collation type is : utf8_general_ci , remember you will need to create the database again under these settings.

ie: create new database : nuke2, again its just a name

If your still having problems, you can remove the nuke_cities table from the list inside nuke.sql including its list of cities. As said above this part of the database is for outside parties who may wish to pay you to advertise on your site. Such a table can be added at a later stage by copy/paste into SQL
_________________
www.web-bin.com | www.skydigitalcards.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB phpBB Group