trouble starting console

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> PHP
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mtdew3q
-


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:37 am    Post subject: trouble starting console Reply with quote

hi-

i am having trouble getting into the console.
it is not a ip port issue (sharing) as i did netstat -a
the information bar said it blocked intranet access and i told it to
let me use intranet.
when i put http://127.0.0.1:9999 in the address bar nothing happens.
it just says abyss is halted.

can anyone give me any tips to getting the console started so i can
configure and use this. i am kind of stuck.

i already had abyss working to develop my site http://www.3rdshiftcoder.com
but i am stuck getting my neighbor started

thanks,
jim
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
TRUSTAbyss
-


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 3720
Location: USA, GA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What errors are reported in the Abyss Web Server dialog?
_________________
Computer Programmer & Networking Specialist

Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
mtdew3q
-


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 5:20 am    Post subject: re: console Reply with quote

hi-
it doesnt report anything. in the user docs there is some printing that indicates the status of abyss and something about the console.
nothing is even printed on my screen. the cursor looks like this
| (bar symbol) with nothing after it. it just says halted.

i checked to make sure no proxy was in use.

i am at the point
where there is an icon in the system tray. however i dont make it to
a configuration file was created. press ok to configure console.
it doesnt give me that message.

i checked for 9999 conflict but not 80. i didnt know if i needed
80 to work yet when it is the console i want to configure first.

i can definitely check 80 tomorrow with netstat -a. my neighbor is headed to bed. i am the late night caffeinated type. darn morning people. just kidding.


thanks very much,
jim
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
aprelium
-


Joined: 22 Mar 2002
Posts: 6800

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 2:07 pm    Post subject: Re: re: console Reply with quote

mtdew3q,

What is exactly printed in the Abyss Web Server window? (double click on the icon of Abyss in the system tray to display it)

Have you installed Abyss Web Server as a system service?

Are you using the latest version?
_________________
Support Team
Aprelium - http://www.aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mtdew3q
-


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 8:46 am    Post subject: re: console Reply with quote

i am passing the buck on this one. i am just going to tell my
neighbor to use whatever and do however to get his webserver
up and running.

i think it is a setting on their machine causing it to go kaflooey.

i'd like to help but
it might be better to learn on his own maybe with help from a forum.
i am far from an expert.

the whole process of troubleshooting is valuable.
i've had my fair share.

i'll tell him to post the answer to your questions.

thanks very much --- later
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
mtdew3q
-


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 4:25 am    Post subject: re: console Reply with quote

hi-

just to update everyone --

when i installed keyfocus webserver i got into the admin panel right away
my neighbor across the hall didnt. just for a test to isolate the problem.

so the issue is settings on my neighbors pc and not the software
(i knew that anyways) or something i was doing wrong

maybe it is network related like localhost being screwed up
or a firewall or some other setting.

at least now my neighbor knows i tried and it is an unknown.
abyss is GREAT software.
thanks,
jim
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
gunny
-


Joined: 25 Aug 2006
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 10:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

im having the same problem right after updating x1 right over the old abyss..
try starting the console and it say halted at the top and reads

"Abyss Web Server X1 (v 2.3.2)
Copyright © Aprelium Technologies - 2001-2006"

in the box, no errors, nothing just wont start..whats it doing? :(
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
AbyssUnderground
-


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 3855

PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It sounds like its not updating properly. Try renaming abyss.conf to abyss.bak and starting abyss again, forcing it to make a new conf file. See if it starts then.
_________________
Andy (AbyssUnderground) (previously The Inquisitor)
www.abyssunderground.co.uk
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gunny
-


Joined: 25 Aug 2006
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 1:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yepper that did the trick....tanks mack 8)
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> PHP All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB phpBB Group