loosing conection to my abyss servor

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> Networking Issues
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mobileplaza
-


Joined: 04 Apr 2005
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2005 9:54 am    Post subject: loosing conection to my abyss servor Reply with quote

hey peps. im running abyss servor x1 v 2.0.0.20, and have no-ip duc. all works fine but after a period of time i can no longer connect to my site. seems like the dns is not updating or something like that. has anyone got any ideas?

my site: http://mobileplaza.no-ip.info
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
AbyssUnderground
-


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 3855

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2005 9:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If this is accessing the site remotely then your router may be disconnecting the dsl connection. In the console of the router you will need to activate keep alive and set it for the lowest possible settings so when its disconnected, it reconnects automatically again.

Hope this helps.
_________________
Andy (AbyssUnderground) (previously The Inquisitor)
www.abyssunderground.co.uk
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
richardyork
-


Joined: 22 Jun 2004
Posts: 394
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2005 10:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I could view your site perfect and it loaded fast too!
Im sure you can change the time intervals that the client checks your IP address for changes, or something like that. I use ipUpdater client and that pings yahoo.com every now and again too, I think that is for checking internet connectivity. This info is very vague and I am not 100%, but it may give you something to go off?

Hope it helps in some way!
_________________
Please SEARCH the forums BEFORE asking questions!
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mobileplaza
-


Joined: 04 Apr 2005
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2005 10:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

not sure i follow that mate... can u see my site on the link?
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
richardyork
-


Joined: 22 Jun 2004
Posts: 394
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2005 10:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes I can view your site by clicking on the link you provided in your first post!
Have a look at the settings in the no-ip client. Maybe it is different to the one I use? Like I said, Im no expert with this type of issue, I was simply suggesting a few things of the top of my head that maybe useful!
_________________
Please SEARCH the forums BEFORE asking questions!
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mobileplaza
-


Joined: 04 Apr 2005
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2005 10:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dam... i try to access my site from my laptop and wont connect on that either! whats going on
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
richardyork
-


Joined: 22 Jun 2004
Posts: 394
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2005 10:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try accessing it via your ip address: http://www.aprelium.com/ip
_________________
Please SEARCH the forums BEFORE asking questions!
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mobileplaza
-


Joined: 04 Apr 2005
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2005 10:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i can mate,. but i cant access any other things like my forum cause ist running through dns.

so you guys can see it. but i cant! dam... i need a solution!

thanks for your help so far peps
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
AbyssUnderground
-


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 3855

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2005 10:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is probably because your router/modem does not support loopback, dont worry about it. Many routers/modems have the same problem.

To check if other people can see it, use a proxy:

http://www.abyssunderground.co.uk/proxy
http://proxify.com
http://the-cloak.com
_________________
Andy (AbyssUnderground) (previously The Inquisitor)
www.abyssunderground.co.uk
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
richardyork
-


Joined: 22 Jun 2004
Posts: 394
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2005 10:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems to be offline now and times-out all the time! You may not be able to access your forum via you IP address because of the way your hyperlinks are!

Code:
<a href="http://mobileplaza.no-ip.info/forum">Forum</a>
Would be wrong

Code:
<a href="/forum">Forum</a>
Would be Ok
_________________
Please SEARCH the forums BEFORE asking questions!
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
AbyssUnderground
-


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 3855

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2005 10:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I dont see how

Quote:
<a href="http://mobileplaza.no-ip.info/forum">Forum</a>


should make a difference. This would only have problems if accessing locally and the router or modem doesnt support loopback.

Id try it. Could work.
_________________
Andy (AbyssUnderground) (previously The Inquisitor)
www.abyssunderground.co.uk
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
richardyork
-


Joined: 22 Jun 2004
Posts: 394
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2005 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I meant if he viewed it locally via http://127.0.0.1

It would also be wrong if his update client isn't working because the domain name wouldn't be pointing to his IP address! Therefore, http://mobileplaza.no-ip.info "would not exist" and cause time-outs but his IP address would be OK, as you know! Thats why I always hyperlink this way:

Code:
<a href="/forum">Forum</a>


This way, no matter wether you use 127.0.0.1, localhost, External IP or domain name, you can always access all links and none will be broken!!

Know what I mean now?
_________________
Please SEARCH the forums BEFORE asking questions!
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
aprelium
-


Joined: 22 Mar 2002
Posts: 6800

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mobileplaza,

Associate your DNS name with IP 127.0.0.1 in the hosts file. Read http://www.aprelium.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7400 for more information.
_________________
Support Team
Aprelium - http://www.aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> Networking Issues All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB phpBB Group