Wireless router makes hosting impossible, false or fact?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> Networking Issues
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Karasu Kami
-


Joined: 22 Sep 2003
Posts: 712
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2005 4:27 pm    Post subject: Wireless router makes hosting impossible, false or fact? Reply with quote

I recently picked up a Netgear wireless router, and have a USB adapater in the USB slot on the front of my computer. I already figured there is no way to host when your computer is recieveing a connection wirelessly, but is there anyway to get around this so i can host to the outside?

Thanks, appreciate the help.
_________________
Thank you all. Aprelium most importantly.
*Some may not be complete*
http://paeon-hosting.com
http://quartermoon.info
http://loc.paeon-hosting.com
http://genjipoetry.paeon-hosting.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
k1ll3rdr4g0n
-


Joined: 04 Jul 2004
Posts: 609

PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2005 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is possible. Im going to assume your router has a DHCP server built in, just do what you would normally do ie forawrd ports ect. Althought it might not be the fastest but it works.
_________________
Back to top View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Karasu Kami
-


Joined: 22 Sep 2003
Posts: 712
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 1:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, only my local area network (LAN) can view the websites. Which means, only the computers connected through the router.

It sucks, because i got this router so i could have my PS2 and computer on at the same time, so now i have to spend MORE money just toget a stupid longer ethernet, then i STILL have to deal with the port forwarding of the router.

:/


Outside ISP going in > Broadband Cable Modem To > Netgear MR814v2 wireless router > Cat5e ethernet in port 4 going to PS2 for socom II online > USB adapter in computer to pickup the Wireless hotspot in my house, and is connected like that.

Everything connected through the router has an IP of: 192.168.0.x

x being the number of the port in which it is connected to.

IE: If i had my computer connected through an ethernet cable, in port 4 of the router, it would be 192.168.0.4

Can someone more advanced help me out? I'm not even sure it is possible to host wirelessly.
_________________
Thank you all. Aprelium most importantly.
*Some may not be complete*
http://paeon-hosting.com
http://quartermoon.info
http://loc.paeon-hosting.com
http://genjipoetry.paeon-hosting.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
k1ll3rdr4g0n
-


Joined: 04 Jul 2004
Posts: 609

PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 2:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Karasu Kami wrote:
Can someone more advanced help me out? I'm not even sure it is possible to host wirelessly.


k1ll3rdr4g0n wrote:
It is possible.


Why doesn't anyone ever read my posts? err anyways thats beside the point...

I doubt that router goes by the ports, if it does then its a crappy router and doesnt have a DHCP server built in.

Assuming you can browse the network with that usb card then you should be able to host, I dont see what the problem is :\.

P.S. I was almost hurt when you asked someone more advanced, almost.
_________________
Back to top View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Karasu Kami
-


Joined: 22 Sep 2003
Posts: 712
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 4:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You seem to be missing my point; And no, i did read your post.

I want to host Outside of my LAN. I want people OUTSIDE my network to be able to visit.

No One Can.

You aren't helping me do anything, all you are asking is if it has DHCP, and telling me my router may be a piece of crap?

Well, it isn't.

All i know, is that no one can access anything of mine outside of my network.
_________________
Thank you all. Aprelium most importantly.
*Some may not be complete*
http://paeon-hosting.com
http://quartermoon.info
http://loc.paeon-hosting.com
http://genjipoetry.paeon-hosting.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
TRUSTAbyss
-


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 3719
Location: USA, GA

PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 6:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey guy's , just to clear this up , I host www.trustabyss.com on my Linksys
Wireless Network , if you need help forwarding the ports , my MSN is below.

My MSN: msn@trustabyss.com
_________________
Computer Programmer & Networking Specialist

Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Karasu Kami
-


Joined: 22 Sep 2003
Posts: 712
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2005 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you trust, this has really put a damper in my situation. I would appreciate and request help from you on MSN. Thank you.
_________________
Thank you all. Aprelium most importantly.
*Some may not be complete*
http://paeon-hosting.com
http://quartermoon.info
http://loc.paeon-hosting.com
http://genjipoetry.paeon-hosting.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
jnixon
-


Joined: 02 Feb 2004
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2005 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Karasu Kami,

Just my 2 cents here - but I'm hosting just fine over wireless...

You need to turn on port forwarding for port 80 on your Netgear and point it to the internal IP address of your Webserver PC (192.168.?.?) - A good idea here is to make that machine a static address, or set up the router to assign the same IP via DHCP.

Port Forwarding instructions for your Netgear is at

http://kbserver.netgear.com/kb_web_files/n101145.asp#RP614Anchor

- Hope this helps
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Karasu Kami
-


Joined: 22 Sep 2003
Posts: 712
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you all for your help, i am hosting now but it is much too slow for my tastes. (Takes 5 minutes to load a page.)

Alas, on an upcoming paycheck i will indeed just give up and buy a longer ethernet cable, then hook it back up with that.

Thanks again.
_________________
Thank you all. Aprelium most importantly.
*Some may not be complete*
http://paeon-hosting.com
http://quartermoon.info
http://loc.paeon-hosting.com
http://genjipoetry.paeon-hosting.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
kkeegan
-


Joined: 23 Nov 2004
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2005 2:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is really strange, how far from your router is your machine.

I run an 802.11b network which comparatively is very slow compared to what you can get. But your DSL pipe is probably still smaller than this anyway.

Whatever,

I run a personal abyss server at home through a wireless net and I use it to stream music, videos, files to my laptop no matter where I am and I do not have any speed issues.

Just wanted to let you know it shouldn't be a problem.

Kevin
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> Networking Issues All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB phpBB Group